Canon Powershot SX50 HS

Canon Powershot SX50 HS

Easy to use, great zoom, great pictures, great camera, I love it.
Michael Jackson , Yandoit, Victoria. , 6/02/2014

I reviewed dozens of camera option before purchasing. I selected the Cannon Powershot SX50 HS on brand, zoom, HD video capability & picture quality. On balance the SX50 was the best package. I've found the camera really easy to use, the dials and functions are intuitive and easy to get at. The zoom is awesome, I can photograph wildlife in great detail and clarity from a long way off, well before the animal gets spooked by my presence. I highly recommend the Cannon Powershot SX50 HS, I love it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Panasonic HX-WA30

Panasonic HX-WA30

***FINALLY, A RUGGED HANDHELD VIDEO CAMERA - AWESOME VALUE AND QUALITY***
Scott Elder , Perth Northern Suburbs (Pearsall) , 6/02/2014

Purchased this in Jan 2014 and have since racked up approx 13 hours of footgae with this great little unit. Picture quality is AMAZING, with really cool functions and features that give the user an array of filming modes and opportunities. I love the fact that it can go under water, and the quality of the underwater footage is exceptional...... My only issue is that im left handed!!.....and this is designed for the right handed person so that your thumb can be used to select the buttons in one handed operation mode, however a small price to pay for such a versitle camera!.....I use this out on the water on the boat, for cliff fishing, 4WDriving and Camping etc etc . I would highly recommend this to anyone that wants a rugged outdoor camera.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 700D

Canon EOS 700D

Love my 700d :)
Elicia , Melbourne , 3/02/2014

The 700d is a fantastic camera! Soooooo easy to use & I love the touch screen.
The photos are high quality. I really cannot fault my camera ;)
I have wanted a DSLR for over a year, after waiting so long I was worried I would be disappointed, but even after 1 month of having it I still want to use it every day !!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 70D

Canon EOS 70D

Love the interactive touch screen....
JK , Brisbane , 1/02/2014

Great features, relatively light weight, easy to find settings within the menu bar. Love the way the touch screen works to change any settings quickly and easily so I can take my shot if conditions change and I need to make an adjustment. The image quality is fabulous and the ability have both raw and jpeg files for the same shot is awesome....Love the Canon product you have my vote!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Cybershot WX300

Sony Cybershot WX300

Nice quality photos
David , Melbourne , 1/02/2014

Bought for long bush walks - wanted decent quality photos + small, light and long battery life. Works very well; battery takes 400+ photos on a charge. Lens is good, especially for a compact with such a wide zoom range. Sensor is 18MP but I think the resolution is more like a top class 8-10MP; artefacts at 1:1 are obvious but printing at reasonable sizes masks them all.
Does not function with my 8 & 16 GB SDRAM cards & won't format them. I have to use a 2GB card which is okay for a jpeg only camera. Wireless doesn't connect to iPhone 5 - maybe Android okay??
Recommendation with caveats as above.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

GoPro Hero 3+ Plus Silver

GoPro Hero 3+ Plus Silver

Great Camera
Don Harris , Adelaide , 31/01/2014

It is a must buy!!!! Fantastic quality, easy to use, great fun to have one down side is the short battery time but i am willing to over look this because of the quality. I have purchased a floaty back door it is a must if you are planning on taking the Gopro in the water.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Tamron SP 70-200mm f2.8 DI LD Macro - Nikon

Tamron SP 70-200mm f2.8 DI LD Macro - Nikon

Amazing value and image quality.
Chad , Sydney , 31/01/2014

Got this lens from the Ted's Sydney city store a week ago and love it.
The service was great.
The lens is great build quality and is super sharp handheld.
Mounted to my D90 it focuses smoothly and easily and is a great weight to use.
The Lens hood and storage/carry bag that come with it are really helpful and set it apart from it's competitors.
I have had some great results shooting macro too. It's nice to be able take a bee photo without worrying about the sting.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D3200

Nikon D3200

Excellent Camera. Am very happy with it in everyway now that I have read the instructions.
Zelda , Qld, Melb , 31/01/2014

Better continuous shooting. Excellent clarity. Much lighter shutter button function. Smaller body means lighter to carry around. I did find that the battery was not as good as my older Nikon though so definately have to have a spare charged one with me.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot SX510 HS

Canon Powershot SX510 HS

Compact with great zoom
Terri Montalto , 31/01/2014

Perfect camera small enough to take everywhere but with the zoom you need to take the perfect photo

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 700D Ultimate Travel Kit (Triple STM Kit)

Canon EOS 700D Ultimate Travel Kit (Triple STM Kit)

Excellent
Vu Nguyen , Canberra , 30/01/2014

I love it. There a full of option for me to explore. It is a good camera to move from entry level to professional.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Panasonic HC-V520M

Panasonic HC-V520M

A very neat and tidy package!
Roderick Smith , Doncaster , 30/01/2014

Very neat and compact and the picture/video quality is very good, The fact I can display pictures/videos on my I-Pad via Wi-Fi is terrific

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 60D

Canon EOS 60D

An Excellent Purchase
Ratbag , Melbourne , 30/01/2014

I must say, this is one of the best purchases I have made. It is a massive upgrade from the 1100D, with many features that I am still learning to use. The battery life is excellent, last far longer than any other camera I have used. I would recommend this to anyone - professional or amateur.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Panasonic HC-V520M

Panasonic HC-V520M

Network connection could be better
Deon Nel , Melbourne , 30/01/2014

Camara is great and works well however the network functionality and the standard ipad app that interfaces with the Camara is below standard and does not provide very useful functionality.
I bought the cam for the ability to interface edit directly on the ipad via the app but lacks the functionality

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 6D

its great camera
Jaspreet , Melbourne , 30/01/2014

This is my first Dslr Camera and i absolutely love it . Image quality is amazing , put some nice glass on this you'll get good results.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D610

Nikon D610

I love my D610
Susan , Pakenham , 30/01/2014

Upgraded to a D610 on advice from Ted's staff on my needs. Purchased with a 28-300mm lens. I love this camera! Little bit heavier than my previous one, but image quality is outstanding, settings fairly easy to find. The battery seems to last for over 500+ photos (JPEG and RAW) the 2 card slots are handy and the unit is solid and beautiful quality!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot N

Canon Powershot N

Great little camera packed with lots of features.
Bruce , Lane Cove, NSW , 30/01/2014

Certainly better than a smart phone camera. Image quality is good for such a tiny camera, take some time to master the control and can be operated with one hand. Video quaity is also good but can be better, still no match to to my other Sony HX20V. Love the touch screen which is bright and clear. Battery life is only fair.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D800 Body

Nikon D800 Body

The d800 is a camera that is made for pros, it takes amazing images and great for value. You get what you pay for.
Hussein , Melbourne , 30/01/2014

The d800 produces amazing images, its 36mb allow you to crop with confidence without loose much quality. Its a bit complicate at first but then you get use to it. its a camera thats made for pros if you know how to control it then you should buy it.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Selphy CP900 Photo Printer

Canon Selphy CP900 Photo Printer

Great little convenient printer
Sharon tlg , Bendigo , 29/01/2014

It does what it is meant to do at around 50 cents a print

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 6D

What is not to like?
Full Frame Convert , East of Melbourne , 25/01/2014

I do not need the GPS, so that is turned off and Battery life is not an issue at all. This is so lightweight for a full frame...and with a 40mm pancake makes for a great walk around camera. By far the stand out is the High ISO capability - I recently shot a whole series at 25600 ISO underground in a coal mine..no need for flash nor tripod. The Silent shutter mode has one of the quietest shutters around,and this came in really handy at a recent wedding shoot.

Sure it only has 11 point autofocus, 4.5 fps, 1/4000 sec max shutter speed, 1/180 flash sync speed etc...but given it's price compared to say the 5dMKiii or the 1Dx then that is fine by me...or to put it another way it has made ownership of a full frame digital camera possible to me (and no doubt countless other photographers).

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 6D

Love this camera - beautiful to use and very easy to manage a lot of the functions
jml , canberra , 24/01/2014

The Canon 6D is a pleasure to use and we carried it with us everyday while hiking and mountain climbing recently. Not too heavy and worth having a good camera to get high quality images all the way. We also found the lower light settings very useful and it was easy to set up various shots.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon Coolpix P520

Nikon Coolpix P520

awesome
louise , melbourne , 24/01/2014

easy to use, having iphone app remote access is fantastic, having wifi ability means, not computer required. nice clear photos to

Pros: Easy to use, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM

Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM

Great Zoom Lens
PlaneSpotter , 24/01/2014

This lens is great, for the price & build quality - does pretty much the same job as the canon at a fraction of the price

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus TG2

Olympus TG2

Overall great camera
Mylinda McClelland , Gold Coast , 23/01/2014

I originally purchased a Nikon AW110 camera and I'm not sure if it was a lemon or not, but the battery life was terrible, it froze up several times and a lot of the photo's were out of focus. I swapped it for the Olympus TG2 and I have never looked back. The photos are amazingly crisp, the colours are beautiful and it is very easy to operate. It does have a bit of trouble in low light though, but it is the best compact rugged camera I have ever had :)

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D5300

Nikon D5300

Good to excellent
Philip Photos , Adelaide , 23/01/2014

Easy to operate and produces excellent images. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot SX280 HS

Canon Powershot SX280 HS

A great little camera!
Lindsay , Camberwell , 23/01/2014

A great camera and I am enjoying using it. I have had 2 similar Canon models earlier and this is the best yet, good value for money.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Simply awesome!
Simon , Melbourne , 23/01/2014

The new AF system on the Mark III is awesome.
Having a second card slot is also handy.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Cybershot HX300

Sony Cybershot HX300

Its a great purchase, good value for money
Happy Customer , Cranbourne, VIC 3977 , 23/01/2014

Kids can even use the camera, and its great. It is a great way of capturig those moments you would like to treasure.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus TG2

Olympus TG2

Flash performance poor
David Lyster , Melbourne , 23/01/2014

Purchased camera based on on-line reviews and store recommendations. Out of the box, image quality was good under day light but flash (at least on the model I purchased) was very disappointing. I ended up returning the camera and replacing it with a Nikon AW100. Although I preferred the lay out of the Olympus and its rubber grips, the Nikon had far superior flash performance and (in my view) image quality. In short, I would not recommend the Olympus if you want a camera that can be used indoors where there is low ambient lighting.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot N

Canon Powershot N

Lessons/Wi Fi
Muzz , Mentone , 23/01/2014

It is quite unique and could probably be better used after a lesson from an experienced user. Every time I try to get some one else to take my photo they screw it up! haha

Have had no access connecting to wifi

Pros: Compact
Cons: Complicated, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon Coolpix S9500 Black

Nikon Coolpix S9500 Black

Fantastic! Excellent Zoom!
Mish K , Melbourne , 19/01/2014

User friendly...the best zoom! You can zoom to full potential and it is so clear! amazing!

Pros: Easy to use, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot SX510 HS

Canon Powershot SX510 HS

I love my camera. :D
Deanne Fletcher , Queensland , 17/01/2014

My husband read reviews and picked the Canon Powershot SX510 HS for me and I am so glad he did. It is easy to use, takes great photos and being able to send the photos straight to the computer is excellent.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon Coolpix S9500 Black

Nikon Coolpix S9500 Black

Haven't had the camera very long - but so far, I like it very much
Dawn , Brisbane , 17/01/2014

Haven't had the camera very long - but so far, I like it very much. I am intending to get along to the 'help' nights - just need to get organised - not too impressed with this 'review' system, it is a bit complicated !!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon Coolpix S800c

Nikon Coolpix S800c

Value for money, easy to use, compacted to carry
Hilary , Busselton W.A , 16/01/2014

As a member of a Camera Club and a owner of the Nikon D7000. My new Nikon coolpix S800c is as good as the big camera. And a lot easier to carry. excellent buy. Thanks Ted;s in Melbourne.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Ixus 132

Canon Ixus 132

Generally very easy to use .Photos of excellent quality.
Snap Happy , Melbourne , 16/01/2014

I am thoroughly enjoying using this camera. The only criticism I have is that the zoom is jerky. I cannot get a smooth transition when I try to zoom in for a close up.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D5200

Nikon D5200

Camera is good, enjoying it.
Anji Reddy Thiyyagura , Altona Meadows, Melbourne , 16/01/2014

Really enjoying with the camera, easy to understand photos are of good quality. Got good deal in TED for christmas. Thanks for it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Inca Tripod i3150 Compact Tripod w/bag

Inca Tripod i3150 Compact Tripod w/bag

this i one hell of a tripod
happy raindeer , buderim , 16/01/2014

this is one hell of a tripod and it comes with a bag.omg I love it.
I t is so cool omg omg omg omg omg omg omg I love it ssssssssssssoooooooooooooooo much and it's realy good for school.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Fuji Finepix XF1

Fuji Finepix XF1

Great camera!
the cheergirl , Brisbane , 16/01/2014

What a valuable camera! Very stylish and has a lot of feature. :) It also helps me in learning manual operation. I wish it has a remote function and able to connect to external flash.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon Coolpix P7800

Nikon Coolpix P7800

Very happy with my camera
Amanda Latter , SYDNEY , 16/01/2014

The quality of the camera is excellent. Considering they're are a few buttons, it's quite easy to use once I got the hang of it. Takes great photos and the flip screen is fantastic...

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D7100

Nikon D7100

Best APS-C on the market today?
Colin , Canberra , 16/01/2014

Decisions, decisions. Do I go FX, or stick with DX? This is something I grappled with for some time before finally settling on the D7100 as an upgrade move from my D5100 (which was only 6 months old anyway).

Do I regret the decision? In no way whatsoever. I purchased a Sigma 10 - 20 to add to the growing lens collection at the same time and have been pondering, ever since, how i have managed to live without such a combination.

Having just rediscovered the joy of photograph after a decades long break from the days of shooting film, I found the D5100 a perfect aid to tapping into and recalling the memories of capturing light on film. The D7100, though, is a serious jump in creative potential. That there is a noticeable -- to me -- improvement in image quality over the D5100 is a bonus. I'll keep the D5100 as a backup and in situations where I want to have two lenses handy.

If you're teetering on that cusp of a decision between sticking with DX and going to FX, and you have a little collection of decent glass, then it's always going to be a tough call. But, I still reckon the D7100 would be the way to go (unless you're taking the big plunge to, say a D800e).

Pros: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Cybershot WX300

Sony Cybershot WX300

Easy, compact, good movie & picture quatiry. Love it.
Pam McMahon , Bli Bli Qld , 16/01/2014

This is one great LITTLE camera, so easy to use, just slips into your pocket, great for travelling. Can't fault it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Alpha A7

Sony Alpha A7

All the performance and only half the weight
Mark Galer , Melbourne , 15/01/2014

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AlphaA7/

I am currently shooting with Sony’s amazing new A7. I was attracted to the camera because it has the full frame forgiveness that I have come to expect with the best professional quality DSLRs available today, with only half the weight (at 465 g the A7R is less than half the weight of the Nikon D800E). I am also able to use the E-Mount lenses from my Sony NEX6 camera and the A-Mount lenses from my Sony A99. Sony Australia is currently offering an adapter for Nikon, Canon, Leica or Sony up to March 2014 for any customer that buys a body only. Although the lens line-up for the A7 cameras is not great at the moment you can pretty much use what you already have and add the new FE lenses (Full Frame E-Mount) as they become available in 2014.

The A7 and A7R are full-frame mirrorless cameras or ILCs (Interchangeable lens Cameras). They join the outrageously expensive Leica M, which is the only other full-frame mirrorless camera on the market. Being a Mirrorless camera, the viewfinder is electronic rather than optical. A quick glance through an electronic viewfinder (EVF) in a photo store may put some photographers off ownership, but my advice is that once you have used one for a month you will be hooked. The OLED EVF of the A7 offers a large (as large as a full-frame optical viewfinder), high-resolution and constant ‘Live View’ that allows you to use the exposure compensation dial intuitively. All information relevant to the capture (including a live histogram) and camera settings can be access and changed without moving your eye from the viewfinder (as I said; ‘addictive’ viewing). Another great advantage of the EVF is Sony’s Focus peaking option that makes manual focus a breeze (much easier than using Leica’s rangefinder). Basically you can choose to show edges that are in sharp focus highlighted with a colour of your choosing. For really critical work you can magnify the view in the viewfinder.

The A7 uses a 24 Megapixel sensor, which is similar to the one found in the Sony’s top of the range A99 DSLT, Sony RX1, Nikon D600 and Nikon D6100. The A7R uses a 36 Megapixel sensor, which is modified version of the sensor found in the Nikon D800E. This sensor does not have the Anti Aliasing filter (also known as the Low Pass filter), to enable sharper detail at the expense of an increased risk of Moiré (secondary patterning). See http://www.lifepixel.com/blog/anti-aliasing-low-pass-filter-removal for a full explanation of Anti Aliasing filters and Moiré. If you were not aware, Sony’s full frame sensors are currently the best imaging sensors on the market (as tested by DxO Labs http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Ratings) and if you like to recuse highlight and shadow details from scenes with extreme subject brightness range or work at ridiculously high ISOs in very low light, the full frame experience is the only way to go.

The high ISO performance is so good Sony offers the option of working with Auto ISO in Manual Exposure Mode. You get to set the ideal aperture and shutter speed to suit your creative idea and let the camera adjust the ISO so that you can achieve the correct exposure. The dedicated Exposure Compensation dial allows you to override the Meter Indicated Exposure and the viewfinder gives you live feedback of your exposure by rendering the image brighter or darker. After this style of ‘EVF experience’, I feel a sense of loss when having to work with an optical viewfinder.

The size and weight of the A7 and A7R cameras reminds me of the smaller 35mm cameras that I used in the 1980s (Olympus OM1, Nikon FM, FE and FG cameras). The A7 is aslo the same size as the ‘Olympus OM-D E-M1’ with a 4/3 sensor (smaller than an APS-C sensor). The weather-sealed magnesium alloy construction of the A7 and A7R gives a beautifully solid build quality and the amount of buttons and dials that can be fully customized makes working with the camera an absolute joy. I now only have to enter the menus to format the card. The camera does not have remote port, but given that you can use a smart phone via WiFi or NFC (Near Field Communication) to control the camera this is a bit of a non-issue.

I have chosen to work with the A7 over the A7R because I like the option of having the on-sensor Phase detection autofocus for tracking moving subjects that the A7 offers, compared to the higher resolution sensor of the A7R that has no Anti Aliasing filter. The A7R camera would appeal to the landscape, portrait and architectural photographers where resolution and fine detail is of primary importance. I have, however, been capturing images with the A7 and the Sony/Carl Zeiss FE 355mm F2.8 lens and found the images to be amazingly sharp. Because most my output is for Books, Magazines and prints no larger than A2, I am more than happy with the resolution of the 24 Megapixel sensor. The Primary advantages of A7 system ownership for me are:

• Less Weight: I will be able to pack my camera, three FE lenses, carbon tripod (a [Pro]master 525T with Manfrotto 494RC2 head), charger, batteries, external SSD drive and MacBook Pro in my 7KG carry-on luggage. This is simply not possible with a DSLR kit (I can get my DSLR kit down to 11KG if I put the tripod in my checked baggage).
• The ability to work from a hip bag rather than a backpack.
• Class leading full-frame sensor.
• Sharp as a tack, lightweight Sony/Carl Zeiss FE lenses.
• Fully Customizable user interface that nearly eliminates the need to enter the camera’s menus.


Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 70D

Canon EOS 70D

Great camera
Travelling Hawk , Melbourne , 14/01/2014

I just upgraded from the EOS40D and I'm very happy. Easy to use, and packed with features. can't complain

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 70D

Canon EOS 70D

pictures are great
Harry176 , Melborune , 10/01/2014

great camera :)
nearly every picture I have taken with the 70D has come out really nice. havnt had the chance to blow any up yet but on the computer screen they are all looking great.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D7100

Nikon D7100

Best APS-C currently on the market?
Colin , Canberra , 10/01/2014

I've had my D7100 for about two months now, having picked up my first DSLR -- a D5100 -- about 9 months ago and finding that the old 'click click' bug had bitten again. The D5100 was meant to be relegated to back-up duties but, so far, it has sat in the camera bag. I thought long and hard about going FX before deciding on the D7100. I'm not disappointed in sticking with DX (for now) with the D7100 any way. It is a camera with serious creative potential that I am beginning to now tap into. Image quality is simply spectacular and there is a noticeable difference between what I can get out of the D5100 (still a brilliant camera) and the D7100. Bear in mind that I rarely use anything other than 'M' on the settings dial, but this camera delivers exactly what is in my mind's eye.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Pentax K30

Pentax K30

I did a stack of research looking for my next camera and in the end the Pentax k30 won out
Gary , Manly, NSW , 10/01/2014

When you put the K30 side by side with Nikon, Canon and Sony in the same price bracket the Pentax K30 is definitely the best with features and build quality.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Ixus 132

Canon Ixus 132

Great camera
Jen , Seven Hills , 10/01/2014

Easy to use, very portable. Takes great pictures and zoom is easy to use. The only fault that I can find, is that the time out on the camera is too short as it does not give much time to take the picture before it activates.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Cybershot WX300

Sony Cybershot WX300

BEST LITTLE CAMERA
Katkira , Melbourne , 10/01/2014

I like: Ease of Use, Quality, Value for Money, Design, Durability, Features
I recently brought the Sony DSC-WX300. I absolutly love it. I take it evey where in my hand bag.Takes wonderful video and photos and I can WI-FI my special memories to my mobile phone. I upgraded from the Sony DSC-WX7. Very easy and user friendly. Best little camera in town.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D3100

Nikon D3100

Lovely camera
Kristen Proudfoot , Gunning NSW , 9/01/2014

So far this camera has proved easy to use, though I haven't graduated from Automatic yet, as we have been busy over Christmas/New year. The brief guide is good; I haven't broached the larger book guide yet. Have got good shots of people at big family celebration, and also nice shots of visiting grandchildren after Christmas. The camera is quite light for its size.

Pros: Easy to use, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D800 Body

Nikon D800 Body

great camera at a fair price.
gary schafer photography , canberra area Australia , 9/01/2014

I really like this camera. Within 48 hours I shot a full color cover with it. It will test glass. probably not zooms. does not like bad technique either. it takes a little testing to see what is best.

if you do not need a machine gun for sport, save 3K on a D4 and get this. It is hard on computer power as they crunch through large 32 mp files. and you need back up. Lots of terabytes. But a lot of camera for the money.

should be the choice of wedding portrait studio product etc photogs. sport and low light need the high end double the price D4. But the D4s is out soon so wait.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Powershot S120

Canon Powershot S120

A GREAT COMPACT CAMERA PRODUCING AMAZING PICTURES
PAUL COLLINS , GOLD COAST , 9/01/2014

THIS CAMERA EXCEEDED ALL MY EXPECTATIONS. i NEVER THOUGHT IT WOULD PRODUCE SUCH HIGH QUALITY PICTURES SO EASILY AND QUICKLY. WITH AUTO SETTING THERE ARE NO MISTAKES ITSETS ITSELF UP FOR THE SHOT INCREDIBLY QUICKLY AND THE PICTURES ARE AMAZING. I HONESTLY CANNOT BELIEVE THE SUPERB HIGH STANDARD OF SOME OF THE 'DIFFICULT' SHOTS IT TAKES.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money