Shopping Cart: 0 items shopping cart

Customer Reviews

151 to 200 of 3166 Items

3166 Item(s)

10 20 50

Sony Alpha A7

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
All the performance and only half the weight
Mark Galer , Melbourne , 15/01/14

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AlphaA7/

I am currently shooting with Sony’s amazing new A7. I was attracted to the camera because it has the full frame forgiveness that I have come to expect with the best professional quality DSLRs available today, with only half the weight (at 465 g the A7R is less than half the weight of the Nikon D800E). I am also able to use the E-Mount lenses from my Sony NEX6 camera and the A-Mount lenses from my Sony A99. Sony Australia is currently offering an adapter for Nikon, Canon, Leica or Sony up to March 2014 for any customer that buys a body only. Although the lens line-up for the A7 cameras is not great at the moment you can pretty much use what you already have and add the new FE lenses (Full Frame E-Mount) as they become available in 2014.

The A7 and A7R are full-frame mirrorless cameras or ILCs (Interchangeable lens Cameras). They join the outrageously expensive Leica M, which is the only other full-frame mirrorless camera on the market. Being a Mirrorless camera, the viewfinder is electronic rather than optical. A quick glance through an electronic viewfinder (EVF) in a photo store may put some photographers off ownership, but my advice is that once you have used one for a month you will be hooked. The OLED EVF of the A7 offers a large (as large as a full-frame optical viewfinder), high-resolution and constant ‘Live View’ that allows you to use the exposure compensation dial intuitively. All information relevant to the capture (including a live histogram) and camera settings can be access and changed without moving your eye from the viewfinder (as I said; ‘addictive’ viewing). Another great advantage of the EVF is Sony’s Focus peaking option that makes manual focus a breeze (much easier than using Leica’s rangefinder). Basically you can choose to show edges that are in sharp focus highlighted with a colour of your choosing. For really critical work you can magnify the view in the viewfinder.

The A7 uses a 24 Megapixel sensor, which is similar to the one found in the Sony’s top of the range A99 DSLT, Sony RX1, Nikon D600 and Nikon D6100. The A7R uses a 36 Megapixel sensor, which is modified version of the sensor found in the Nikon D800E. This sensor does not have the Anti Aliasing filter (also known as the Low Pass filter), to enable sharper detail at the expense of an increased risk of Moiré (secondary patterning). See http://www.lifepixel.com/blog/anti-aliasing-low-pass-filter-removal for a full explanation of Anti Aliasing filters and Moiré. If you were not aware, Sony’s full frame sensors are currently the best imaging sensors on the market (as tested by DxO Labs http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Ratings) and if you like to recuse highlight and shadow details from scenes with extreme subject brightness range or work at ridiculously high ISOs in very low light, the full frame experience is the only way to go.

The high ISO performance is so good Sony offers the option of working with Auto ISO in Manual Exposure Mode. You get to set the ideal aperture and shutter speed to suit your creative idea and let the camera adjust the ISO so that you can achieve the correct exposure. The dedicated Exposure Compensation dial allows you to override the Meter Indicated Exposure and the viewfinder gives you live feedback of your exposure by rendering the image brighter or darker. After this style of ‘EVF experience’, I feel a sense of loss when having to work with an optical viewfinder.

The size and weight of the A7 and A7R cameras reminds me of the smaller 35mm cameras that I used in the 1980s (Olympus OM1, Nikon FM, FE and FG cameras). The A7 is aslo the same size as the ‘Olympus OM-D E-M1’ with a 4/3 sensor (smaller than an APS-C sensor). The weather-sealed magnesium alloy construction of the A7 and A7R gives a beautifully solid build quality and the amount of buttons and dials that can be fully customized makes working with the camera an absolute joy. I now only have to enter the menus to format the card. The camera does not have remote port, but given that you can use a smart phone via WiFi or NFC (Near Field Communication) to control the camera this is a bit of a non-issue.

I have chosen to work with the A7 over the A7R because I like the option of having the on-sensor Phase detection autofocus for tracking moving subjects that the A7 offers, compared to the higher resolution sensor of the A7R that has no Anti Aliasing filter. The A7R camera would appeal to the landscape, portrait and architectural photographers where resolution and fine detail is of primary importance. I have, however, been capturing images with the A7 and the Sony/Carl Zeiss FE 355mm F2.8 lens and found the images to be amazingly sharp. Because most my output is for Books, Magazines and prints no larger than A2, I am more than happy with the resolution of the 24 Megapixel sensor. The Primary advantages of A7 system ownership for me are:

• Less Weight: I will be able to pack my camera, three FE lenses, carbon tripod (a [Pro]master 525T with Manfrotto 494RC2 head), charger, batteries, external SSD drive and MacBook Pro in my 7KG carry-on luggage. This is simply not possible with a DSLR kit (I can get my DSLR kit down to 11KG if I put the tripod in my checked baggage).
• The ability to work from a hip bag rather than a backpack.
• Class leading full-frame sensor.
• Sharp as a tack, lightweight Sony/Carl Zeiss FE lenses.
• Fully Customizable user interface that nearly eliminates the need to enter the camera’s menus.


Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
100 of 191 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera
Travelling Hawk , Melbourne , 14/01/14

I just upgraded from the EOS40D and I'm very happy. Easy to use, and packed with features. can't complain

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
120 of 238 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
pictures are great
Harry176 , Melborune , 10/01/14

great camera :)
nearly every picture I have taken with the 70D has come out really nice. havnt had the chance to blow any up yet but on the computer screen they are all looking great.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
120 of 233 people found this review helpful

Nikon D7100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Best APS-C currently on the market?
Colin , Canberra , 10/01/14

I've had my D7100 for about two months now, having picked up my first DSLR -- a D5100 -- about 9 months ago and finding that the old 'click click' bug had bitten again. The D5100 was meant to be relegated to back-up duties but, so far, it has sat in the camera bag. I thought long and hard about going FX before deciding on the D7100. I'm not disappointed in sticking with DX (for now) with the D7100 any way. It is a camera with serious creative potential that I am beginning to now tap into. Image quality is simply spectacular and there is a noticeable difference between what I can get out of the D5100 (still a brilliant camera) and the D7100. Bear in mind that I rarely use anything other than 'M' on the settings dial, but this camera delivers exactly what is in my mind's eye.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 186 people found this review helpful

Pentax K30

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
I did a stack of research looking for my next camera and in the end the Pentax k30 won out
Gary , Manly, NSW , 10/01/14

When you put the K30 side by side with Nikon, Canon and Sony in the same price bracket the Pentax K30 is definitely the best with features and build quality.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
57 of 120 people found this review helpful

Canon Ixus 132

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera
Jen , Seven Hills , 9/01/14

Easy to use, very portable. Takes great pictures and zoom is easy to use. The only fault that I can find, is that the time out on the camera is too short as it does not give much time to take the picture before it activates.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 139 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot WX300

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
BEST LITTLE CAMERA
Katkira , Melbourne , 9/01/14

I like: Ease of Use, Quality, Value for Money, Design, Durability, Features
I recently brought the Sony DSC-WX300. I absolutly love it. I take it evey where in my hand bag.Takes wonderful video and photos and I can WI-FI my special memories to my mobile phone. I upgraded from the Sony DSC-WX7. Very easy and user friendly. Best little camera in town.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
79 of 149 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Lovely camera
Kristen Proudfoot , Gunning NSW , 9/01/14

So far this camera has proved easy to use, though I haven't graduated from Automatic yet, as we have been busy over Christmas/New year. The brief guide is good; I haven't broached the larger book guide yet. Have got good shots of people at big family celebration, and also nice shots of visiting grandchildren after Christmas. The camera is quite light for its size.

Pros: Easy to use, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
75 of 161 people found this review helpful

Nikon D800 Body

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
great camera at a fair price.
gary schafer photography , canberra area Australia , 9/01/14

I really like this camera. Within 48 hours I shot a full color cover with it. It will test glass. probably not zooms. does not like bad technique either. it takes a little testing to see what is best.

if you do not need a machine gun for sport, save 3K on a D4 and get this. It is hard on computer power as they crunch through large 32 mp files. and you need back up. Lots of terabytes. But a lot of camera for the money.

should be the choice of wedding portrait studio product etc photogs. sport and low light need the high end double the price D4. But the D4s is out soon so wait.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
75 of 157 people found this review helpful

Canon Powershot S120

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
A GREAT COMPACT CAMERA PRODUCING AMAZING PICTURES
PAUL COLLINS , GOLD COAST , 9/01/14

THIS CAMERA EXCEEDED ALL MY EXPECTATIONS. i NEVER THOUGHT IT WOULD PRODUCE SUCH HIGH QUALITY PICTURES SO EASILY AND QUICKLY. WITH AUTO SETTING THERE ARE NO MISTAKES ITSETS ITSELF UP FOR THE SHOT INCREDIBLY QUICKLY AND THE PICTURES ARE AMAZING. I HONESTLY CANNOT BELIEVE THE SUPERB HIGH STANDARD OF SOME OF THE 'DIFFICULT' SHOTS IT TAKES.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
95 of 187 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot RX100 MK II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent camera!
Qodd , Brisbane , 9/01/14

I am very happy with all aspects of this camera. Now I bring this camera with me and leave my old Sony A55 at home. It's great to have a camera that fits into your pocket that can also take good photos. It would take too long to write all the good things about this camera... so I am not going to ... there are already a lot of good reviews out there.

But I do want to say one small thing about this camera that can be improved. The BULB mode of this camera requires you to hold down the shutter button for the duration of the shot. This is just useless! There must be a better way to shoot in BULB mode.

Here is a suggestion for Sony:
Allow user to start/stop BULB mode shooting via the Play Memories app (via the phone). The phone is the perfect remote control for the camera. Also while you are at it, why not let user change the setting of the camera via the phone?

I would also like to mention that I received good service from Ted's Camera. I was going to buy this camera online (overseas), but Ted's offered me a price I am happy with.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
115 of 228 people found this review helpful

Nikon D7100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Simply the best DSLR...
James , Brisbane , 9/01/14

Absolutely fantastic camera; built, performance and easy to use. Reasonably light for the solid-built quality. Buttons and interface are easy to access. This is one camera that will suit beginner to pro. It has more features than you could ever imagine and need. With image quality this good there is no reason to go full frame unless you like the weight, bulkiness, post processing images and cash to burn. Outperforms D610 in my opinion. Takes wider range of lenses. Get more out of your FX telephoto lens. Spend time familiarise with this camera and there will be nothing you cannot capture.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
118 of 210 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P520

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Reserving judgement
JF , Canberra , 9/01/14

So far a little disappointed in battery life. The delay between shutter press and image save results in action shots being missed.

Pros: Compact, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
87 of 168 people found this review helpful

Canon Powershot SX280 HS

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great compact travel camera however battery life terrible
Gary Huang , Canberra , 9/01/14

When shooting full HD videos the battery drains very quickly. You'll record no more than 30 minutes before the battery dies.

Overall a well built and qualty camera that's made in Japan.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
75 of 140 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix S9500 Black

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
found camera very compsct and light.
Robert , Parkside , 8/01/14

The camera is easy to use, is light enough to carry in my pocket.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Bulky, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
85 of 163 people found this review helpful

Canon KP-108IN Print Pack

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great little printer
SAVVY SHARON , BENDIGO , 7/01/14

Good to have a small printer on whenever I wish to print photos.
Have used this for my artwork as well and always happy with the performance. Tougher paper than inkjet , although quality may not be quite the same

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
96 of 183 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
still getting to know it
ray , Bribie is , 6/01/14

the book is heavy going but understandable. I am glad I also bought the dvd on the camera as it makes it easier to understand the book.
Once I get to know the camera I hope to have lots of fun.
Must buys. Tripod. remote cable more lenses.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
82 of 166 people found this review helpful

GoPro Hero 3+ Plus Black

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Image quality is brilliant. WiFi and app for phone or tablet is great.
Robbo , Melbourne , 6/01/14

Fish eye i hate if it's close to object, but the choice to use "narrow" is great in 720p or 1080p. Also love the photo while videoing option..and the Time Lapse spun me out with the BIG and clear photo sequence . Only gripe is the case that makes it bulky to look at and use...it would be ideal if it came with the naked frame and a tripod base in the box!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
117 of 229 people found this review helpful

Panasonic HC-V520M

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
I Love This Camera!!
Jennasaurus , 6/01/14

Looking for camera specifically for 7 week European adventure. I was looking at different (slightly cheaper) cameras to begin with, but uncle recommended this one. Wasn't sure as price scared me a little, but eventually bought it. So glad I did! It's incredibly easy to use, very quick, beautiful quality pictures and videos. Worth it's price tag and more. Battery life is pretty good & mine came with extra battery so I'm not likely to ever miss a photo op. Great camera, love, love, love it!! Oh and the flippy screen is really helpful when at a weird angle (or trying to take a selfie)! :D

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
66 of 143 people found this review helpful

GoPro Hero 3+ Plus Black

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good camera - firmware needs work
Rider , 6/01/14

The GoPro HERO3+ is a good camera that satisfies its intended use. It is light, compact and easy to use, deals with audio well with the skeleton back on and handles wet camera work with the solid back on.

Where there are problems is still with the firmware - a problem with previous models apparently. Occasionally the camera will not start (removal of the battery usually fixes this) and sometimes recording stops without warning.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
113 of 220 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 600D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
great to use
claire mifsud , bungendore , 3/01/14

I have never been happier with a camera

I just wish there was a DVD on how to use it professionally

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
117 of 235 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Over all a very good camera just love it
Mary Baldwin , Melbourne , 3/01/14

it's a beautiful camera to use the Image quality is fantastic its ticks all the boxes for me.

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
95 of 197 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot HX50V

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good camera for an amateur photographer
Lee Sims , Brisbane , 2/01/14

Would like it to be more slimline and would like to give myself the time to experiment with it more. Otherwise a good little camera.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
86 of 159 people found this review helpful

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent
jamescphotography , Melbourne , 2/01/14

Its great for lowlight situations and for shooting portraits.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
110 of 232 people found this review helpful

Nikon DF

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Lighter than other full frame, compact, good look, image quality & low light ability
Winston Mcleod , Forest Hill 3131 , 2/01/14

I very much like the Df. One issue is the card slot in the battery compartment. Maybe mode dial a little small. Image quality is excellent especially low light. Used at Christmas indoors, no flash & images are great. Service at Ted's Knox (Colin) also exceptional in assisting the purchase as all other products there. Thank you Colin.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 154 people found this review helpful

Nikon D7100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent camera
Troy , Brisbane , 2/01/14

Used on holiday in Hong Kong for the first time. Setup was really easy. The battery lasted for the full 2 weeks. Picture results are awesome.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 189 people found this review helpful

Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great lens quality with a F2.8 aperture great for low light
Rooboy , Melbourne , 1/01/14

I use this lens on my EOS 6D and it is exceptionally sharp.
Great value considering it was on $599 that's half the price of the equivalent Canon brand lens albeit only 28mm wide but this is wide enough for most uses.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
100 of 184 people found this review helpful

Nikon DF

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
High quality images, analogue and digital control, excellent battery life
Target Market purchaser , Sydney Australia , 1/01/14

A Nikon user since the D80, and sold my D700 to upgrade to the Df and couldn't be happier. Familiar digital control wheels and menus augmented with analogue controls for easy street shooting with pre-sets. After 2000+ shots over 9-10 hours, am getting used to smaller hand grip than D700/800 as fingers getting stronger! Very lightweight with standard 50mm 1.8, but I find myself carrying the camera by the lens when 24-70 mounted, and definitely a two-hand carry when SB700/900 attached as well. As a 40+ year old who started shooting film, retro looks and D4 sensor drew me in - plus Ted's sales pitch and service of course. A photographer's camera that draws interest and comment from young and old.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
94 of 185 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent camera for the cost.
George , Qld , 31/12/13

Although I am an amateur in photography I am pleased with the purchase of the EOS 70D Canon camera especially using it in very low light conditions.
It has stimulated me into experimenting and expanding into new areas of photography and experience new horizons.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
125 of 257 people found this review helpful

Fuji Finepix XP150

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Awesome Camera
Hol , 30/12/13

Absolutely love the camera, takes excellent pictures, I haven't used it under water yet, good size because its "Pocket Size"!! The only problem is the Battery, its life is far to short, doesn't last long at all, which is a pain, so if u get this camera, you might be better off getting another battery along with it!
I would recommend to all!

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
59 of 120 people found this review helpful

Nikon AF-S 50mm f1.4G

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Perfect prime lens for beginners/enthusiasts
Johnnieboi , Melbourne , 29/12/13

Definitely worth the price. Quality build and quality photos. Being a prime lense it teaches you to 'zoom' with your feet and think about composition. Nice weight, not too heavy or too light. Fits in hand nicely, not too bulky to carry. Matched to my D7100 it does a great job in bringing clear crisp shots with incredible bokeh at larger apertures. Shows great depth of field. My friend also purchased one matched to his D800 which also takes great shots. Great lense to learn DSLR photgraphy on. Autofocus is sharp and quick. Manual focus works well but a steady hand is required. Would definitely recommend.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
88 of 180 people found this review helpful

Nikon D800E Body

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Sharp images with lots of detail
FD , Brisbane , 27/12/13

Sharp images with lots of detail

Pros: Build quality
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
75 of 149 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix GX7

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Love it!
LIAL , Central Vic , 27/12/13

This is my first 'proper' digital camera since owning a Yashica in the mid eighties. A lot has changed.
I decided on this camera because of its compact size (I'm a bike tourer so size and weight are a big issue for me). I wanted a small camera that takes great photos and I couldn't be happier! It has taken me a couple of weeks to get around all the menus etc, but so far so good. I especially love the scene guides and creative control modes.
The camera feels nice and solid and even with my small hands (I am a female) I can still access all the dials. The battery seems to drain fast, but I have no point of reference here as this is my first rechargeable camera.
Also a special commendation to Byron from the Melbourne CBD city store who sold me the camera a couple of weeks ago. He was brilliant and it was a pleasure doing business with him! I will certainly be back to get some more lenses.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
99 of 201 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot RX100 MK II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
RX100ii
Craig , Canberra , 26/12/13

Fantastic image quality, with some really nice in-built creative effects. Bigger than usual sensor size gives superior images. Wifi handy to send photos to smartphone - but be aware that videos are not compatible/playable on iPhones/iPads. Apples devices simply don't recognise the files to import them. You'll need an after-market video converter program, and another computer to do the grunt work before you can view them on iPads. Expensive compared to many other compacts on the market, but if you're after a quality product you can't go wrong. Feels solid in the hand, and is likely to last a lot longer than the technology it contains. Tilting screen a nice touch for low/high shooting angles.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
111 of 227 people found this review helpful

Nikon D5200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera, hard to find a fault!
JVodicka , Sydney , 26/12/13

My first DSLR and very pleased, not a great reputation but its lived up to all my expectations! Great image quality, easy to get a handle on and great for both first time users and those who want great photos from a cheaper camera. I also bought the 18-105mm lens and this has been great as I have not needed any other lenses for general shooting. Little things like the flip out screen, ISO button and great user interface have made the camera just that little bit better. Only cons are that as I cannot install the program ViewNX as my laptop is a few years old and no longer compatible, it makes viewing and transferring photos very difficult, I have to put the SD into an old compact camera for this. But if i can put up with that I would say this camera is close to perfect, highly reccomended!!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
104 of 194 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P520

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great easy to use camera for my wife.
Anthony Stevens , Chelsea , 26/12/13

Clare (70 years old) is still getting used to it as it was a Christmas present from me to replace an old Fuji camera with a very small screen. The movable large screen is an advantage.
So far she is managing it on auto picture.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
86 of 177 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 600D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great Camera For Beginners
Sean Bourke , Melbourne , 24/12/13

This DSLR is a must buy for anyone considering DSLR photography. I myself am only 14 and I forked out the extra $250 over the 1100D and it was the best choice I have made to date.

It's battery life is excellent, I use it occasionally and tend to get 8-9 hours out of it, depending on the shooting conditions.

If you ever buy this DSLR I would heavily recommend doing a course, as it really helps with understanding the camera and makes a heck of a lot easier to use!!

"You get what you pay for" I do feel the build quality is a plasticy and therefore I will eventually upgrade to a 70D/6D to use some EF lenses. However for the price it is an excellent camera and as long as you do not drop it, it will treat you wonderfully and have a great time taking photos.

Lastly image quality will always depend on what sort of lens you put on the camera. Remember "you get what you pay for," so don't buy lots of cheap glass, buy a few more expensive pieces and they don't have to be new. A good lens will outlast many DSLR camera bodies so there is no harm done in buying a good quality used lens!!!

Hope this all helps,
Sean

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
119 of 215 people found this review helpful

Fuji Finepix XF1

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
good camera with good colours and low light performance
stephen lumsden , Sydney , 24/12/13

good camera with good colours and low light performance, zoom take a bit of getting used to though

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 175 people found this review helpful

Samsung WB250F

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Samsung WB250, good easy to use economicial
Terry , NZ , 22/12/13

I purchased this camera as i wanted something that was compact & didnt break the budget yet still wanted a good Zoom & ability to manually overide some functions.... it has fulfilled these options & some i have had a couple sony compacts prior & while nothing wrong with them found i wanted a similar type compact camera with a half decent zoom.. it has this & also wifi, & ability to use in conjunction with other samsung products, eg. phone, TV.
Hopefully will last a couple years which would really make this an ideal purchase. Easy To use with a good review screen on back, menu also has some useful scroll through functions without being too gimmicky or over complicated.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
87 of 174 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D Body Only

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Quality Camera
Ash , Melbourne , 22/12/13

I have upgraded to the Canon 700D from a simple point and shoot and couldn't be happier. It can have professional results yet is so easy to use. I recommend this to anyone starting out or upgrading to a DSLR. Defiantly worth it.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
76 of 150 people found this review helpful

Sony HDR-CX220

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great first time camcorder for home movies
Alex , Melbourne , 19/12/13

Great quality filming! Super easy to navigate; only has 5 buttons!
This cam is NOT a touchscreen though.
VERY light weight so not ideal if you want steady filming 100% of the time, but small and light enough to pop in a bag and not get a sore neck from it.
the playback mode is fairly annoying. Due to the only control button being a joystick push button control, during playback, pause and volume control is not quickly accessible.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
88 of 168 people found this review helpful

Nikon D610

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great Value for Money
Daniel Cullen , Christies Beach , 19/12/13

With all the features of a "Pro" camera in a 'Enthusiasts" camera body. A little awkward to use after using the smaller D5100, but once you get to know your way around the controls, it is very easy to use, well balanced and of great build quality. High quality images combined with ease of use along with fast shooting speeds and great battery life, makes for a fantastic combination and a must have in any photographers kit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
127 of 267 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P7800

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Average to mediocre machine - quite disappointing considering the price.
Mirko , Victoria , 19/12/13

Has a few positive features, but the focusing ability lets it down completely. It is very slow, inaccurate and the refresh rate is very poor. I have a Fujifilm x20 and the difference between the two is chalk and cheese. The constant manual flicking between LCD and the EVF is very frustrating and a poor showing on modern technology ie: this would be so easy to correct!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
88 of 189 people found this review helpful

Nikon D5300

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Love it
Mike , Melbourne , 19/12/13

It's a huge step up from my first DSLR. The quality of picture is second to none & the viewing screen is perfect. The angle option for the screen is very useful. The video option is easy to use & gives one another avenue to enjoy the camera. I bought a 18-300 lens which gives me everything I want in a DSLR.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
112 of 205 people found this review helpful

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great fun and lots of easy to understand help
Jenny Brotherton , Melbourne , 16/12/13

Glynn was a great instructor. His use of everyday language instead of jargon was so easy to follow that even a dyslexic like me could understand the dreaded ISO/F-Stop and DOF concepts. He mixed theory and practice well and never made me feel like an idiot.The only improvement I would suggest is a brief guideline/summary of the theory to take home for practicing.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
118 of 218 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Purchase
Andrew Clark , Melbourne , 16/12/13

You will not be disappointed with the addition of a Canon 70D. It's an excellent first camera for me and I'm sure it would be for somebody else, or even an upgrade for a professional. BlueTooth is an excellent addition with the Apps available on your Android or iPhone

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
126 of 244 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
A good entry level dslr.
Sara , Canberra , 14/12/13

An easy to use camera for my first dslr. A few things yet to be sorted, like how to focus on multiple depths of field. With the 18-135 lens the shadow when using the flash is more than a little annoying.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
92 of 185 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 6D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Amazing camera!!
Ex 5D mk1 User , Melbourne , 12/12/13

Previously a 5D mk1 user, the Canon 6D was very easy to use straight out of the box. Lenses used: Canon 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4. The image quality is amazing, crystal clear, very sharp. The 20MP gives you the ability to shoot, then crop to zoom. Going from an older camera it took a little getting use to with all the added features (eg. live view, HDR mode) and takes a little bit of time tinkering with the menu to get the settings the way you like. Cool custom functions C1/C2 and my menu, gives you quick access. Best thing is shooting with F4 lens @ ISO12800 - useable!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
126 of 250 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good introductory DSLR however missing some basic features
Party Pie , 12/12/13

I've started an introductory photography class and was disappointed that my D200 didn't have some of the 'basic' features that were used throughout the course such as - depth of field preview button and certain fstop settings (changing from 1/3 to 1/2). Having said that, these are not essential features (though preferred) and I have had no other problems with my camera to date. Being quite affordable in terms of introductory DSLRs today I would of still made the same choice when purchasing.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
97 of 192 people found this review helpful

Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Extraordinary Lens!
Jacko , Sydney , 10/12/13

This lens is fast, sharp and quiet. It's a brilliant lens considering it's price. The lens never comes of the camera regardless of its focal length. I would RECOMMEND THIS LENS TO ANYBODY. A great first lens to buy and performs exceptionally well. Anybody unsure about buying it, just go for it, I was once in the same boat and I have never looked back on buying it.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
85 of 176 people found this review helpful

151 to 200 of 3166 Items

3166 Item(s)

10 20 50

Ted's Sharing your love of Photography

How'd they do that?
"Sunrise on the Mt." By Joel Strickland

Tips from the photographer

  • Get up early, the light at sunrise can be amazing.
  • Act quick, the light isn’t like this for long.
  • Shoot raw, it helps to capture the full colour range.

Equipment Used