Shopping Cart: 0 items shopping cart

Customer Reviews

151 to 200 of 3142 Items

3142 Item(s)

10 20 50

Nikon AF-S 50mm f1.4G

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Perfect prime lens for beginners/enthusiasts
Johnnieboi , Melbourne , 29/12/13

Definitely worth the price. Quality build and quality photos. Being a prime lense it teaches you to 'zoom' with your feet and think about composition. Nice weight, not too heavy or too light. Fits in hand nicely, not too bulky to carry. Matched to my D7100 it does a great job in bringing clear crisp shots with incredible bokeh at larger apertures. Shows great depth of field. My friend also purchased one matched to his D800 which also takes great shots. Great lense to learn DSLR photgraphy on. Autofocus is sharp and quick. Manual focus works well but a steady hand is required. Would definitely recommend.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
65 of 131 people found this review helpful

Nikon D800E Body

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Sharp images with lots of detail
FD , Brisbane , 27/12/13

Sharp images with lots of detail

Pros: Build quality
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
61 of 118 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix GX7

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Love it!
LIAL , Central Vic , 27/12/13

This is my first 'proper' digital camera since owning a Yashica in the mid eighties. A lot has changed.
I decided on this camera because of its compact size (I'm a bike tourer so size and weight are a big issue for me). I wanted a small camera that takes great photos and I couldn't be happier! It has taken me a couple of weeks to get around all the menus etc, but so far so good. I especially love the scene guides and creative control modes.
The camera feels nice and solid and even with my small hands (I am a female) I can still access all the dials. The battery seems to drain fast, but I have no point of reference here as this is my first rechargeable camera.
Also a special commendation to Byron from the Melbourne CBD city store who sold me the camera a couple of weeks ago. He was brilliant and it was a pleasure doing business with him! I will certainly be back to get some more lenses.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
65 of 133 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot RX100 II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
RX100ii
Craig , Canberra , 26/12/13

Fantastic image quality, with some really nice in-built creative effects. Bigger than usual sensor size gives superior images. Wifi handy to send photos to smartphone - but be aware that videos are not compatible/playable on iPhones/iPads. Apples devices simply don't recognise the files to import them. You'll need an after-market video converter program, and another computer to do the grunt work before you can view them on iPads. Expensive compared to many other compacts on the market, but if you're after a quality product you can't go wrong. Feels solid in the hand, and is likely to last a lot longer than the technology it contains. Tilting screen a nice touch for low/high shooting angles.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
80 of 165 people found this review helpful

Nikon D5200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera, hard to find a fault!
JVodicka , Sydney , 26/12/13

My first DSLR and very pleased, not a great reputation but its lived up to all my expectations! Great image quality, easy to get a handle on and great for both first time users and those who want great photos from a cheaper camera. I also bought the 18-105mm lens and this has been great as I have not needed any other lenses for general shooting. Little things like the flip out screen, ISO button and great user interface have made the camera just that little bit better. Only cons are that as I cannot install the program ViewNX as my laptop is a few years old and no longer compatible, it makes viewing and transferring photos very difficult, I have to put the SD into an old compact camera for this. But if i can put up with that I would say this camera is close to perfect, highly reccomended!!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 127 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P520

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great easy to use camera for my wife.
Anthony Stevens , Chelsea , 26/12/13

Clare (70 years old) is still getting used to it as it was a Christmas present from me to replace an old Fuji camera with a very small screen. The movable large screen is an advantage.
So far she is managing it on auto picture.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
66 of 134 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 600D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great Camera For Beginners
Sean Bourke , Melbourne , 24/12/13

This DSLR is a must buy for anyone considering DSLR photography. I myself am only 14 and I forked out the extra $250 over the 1100D and it was the best choice I have made to date.

It's battery life is excellent, I use it occasionally and tend to get 8-9 hours out of it, depending on the shooting conditions.

If you ever buy this DSLR I would heavily recommend doing a course, as it really helps with understanding the camera and makes a heck of a lot easier to use!!

"You get what you pay for" I do feel the build quality is a plasticy and therefore I will eventually upgrade to a 70D/6D to use some EF lenses. However for the price it is an excellent camera and as long as you do not drop it, it will treat you wonderfully and have a great time taking photos.

Lastly image quality will always depend on what sort of lens you put on the camera. Remember "you get what you pay for," so don't buy lots of cheap glass, buy a few more expensive pieces and they don't have to be new. A good lens will outlast many DSLR camera bodies so there is no harm done in buying a good quality used lens!!!

Hope this all helps,
Sean

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
83 of 152 people found this review helpful

Fuji Finepix XF1

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
good camera with good colours and low light performance
stephen lumsden , Sydney , 24/12/13

good camera with good colours and low light performance, zoom take a bit of getting used to though

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
75 of 147 people found this review helpful

Samsung WB250F

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Samsung WB250, good easy to use economicial
Terry , NZ , 22/12/13

I purchased this camera as i wanted something that was compact & didnt break the budget yet still wanted a good Zoom & ability to manually overide some functions.... it has fulfilled these options & some i have had a couple sony compacts prior & while nothing wrong with them found i wanted a similar type compact camera with a half decent zoom.. it has this & also wifi, & ability to use in conjunction with other samsung products, eg. phone, TV.
Hopefully will last a couple years which would really make this an ideal purchase. Easy To use with a good review screen on back, menu also has some useful scroll through functions without being too gimmicky or over complicated.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
74 of 149 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D Body Only

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Quality Camera
Ash , Melbourne , 22/12/13

I have upgraded to the Canon 700D from a simple point and shoot and couldn't be happier. It can have professional results yet is so easy to use. I recommend this to anyone starting out or upgrading to a DSLR. Defiantly worth it.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
61 of 123 people found this review helpful

Sony HDR-CX220

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great first time camcorder for home movies
Alex , Melbourne , 19/12/13

Great quality filming! Super easy to navigate; only has 5 buttons!
This cam is NOT a touchscreen though.
VERY light weight so not ideal if you want steady filming 100% of the time, but small and light enough to pop in a bag and not get a sore neck from it.
the playback mode is fairly annoying. Due to the only control button being a joystick push button control, during playback, pause and volume control is not quickly accessible.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
71 of 131 people found this review helpful

Nikon D610

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great Value for Money
Daniel Cullen , Christies Beach , 19/12/13

With all the features of a "Pro" camera in a 'Enthusiasts" camera body. A little awkward to use after using the smaller D5100, but once you get to know your way around the controls, it is very easy to use, well balanced and of great build quality. High quality images combined with ease of use along with fast shooting speeds and great battery life, makes for a fantastic combination and a must have in any photographers kit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
93 of 199 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P7800

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Average to mediocre machine - quite disappointing considering the price.
Mirko , Victoria , 19/12/13

Has a few positive features, but the focusing ability lets it down completely. It is very slow, inaccurate and the refresh rate is very poor. I have a Fujifilm x20 and the difference between the two is chalk and cheese. The constant manual flicking between LCD and the EVF is very frustrating and a poor showing on modern technology ie: this would be so easy to correct!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
70 of 148 people found this review helpful

Nikon D5300

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Love it
Mike , Melbourne , 19/12/13

It's a huge step up from my first DSLR. The quality of picture is second to none & the viewing screen is perfect. The angle option for the screen is very useful. The video option is easy to use & gives one another avenue to enjoy the camera. I bought a 18-300 lens which gives me everything I want in a DSLR.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
81 of 145 people found this review helpful

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great fun and lots of easy to understand help
Jenny Brotherton , Melbourne , 16/12/13

Glynn was a great instructor. His use of everyday language instead of jargon was so easy to follow that even a dyslexic like me could understand the dreaded ISO/F-Stop and DOF concepts. He mixed theory and practice well and never made me feel like an idiot.The only improvement I would suggest is a brief guideline/summary of the theory to take home for practicing.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
83 of 150 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Purchase
Andrew Clark , Melbourne , 16/12/13

You will not be disappointed with the addition of a Canon 70D. It's an excellent first camera for me and I'm sure it would be for somebody else, or even an upgrade for a professional. BlueTooth is an excellent addition with the Apps available on your Android or iPhone

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
82 of 161 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
A good entry level dslr.
Sara , Canberra , 14/12/13

An easy to use camera for my first dslr. A few things yet to be sorted, like how to focus on multiple depths of field. With the 18-135 lens the shadow when using the flash is more than a little annoying.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
71 of 137 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 6D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Amazing camera!!
Ex 5D mk1 User , Melbourne , 12/12/13

Previously a 5D mk1 user, the Canon 6D was very easy to use straight out of the box. Lenses used: Canon 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4. The image quality is amazing, crystal clear, very sharp. The 20MP gives you the ability to shoot, then crop to zoom. Going from an older camera it took a little getting use to with all the added features (eg. live view, HDR mode) and takes a little bit of time tinkering with the menu to get the settings the way you like. Cool custom functions C1/C2 and my menu, gives you quick access. Best thing is shooting with F4 lens @ ISO12800 - useable!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
91 of 179 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good introductory DSLR however missing some basic features
Party Pie , 12/12/13

I've started an introductory photography class and was disappointed that my D200 didn't have some of the 'basic' features that were used throughout the course such as - depth of field preview button and certain fstop settings (changing from 1/3 to 1/2). Having said that, these are not essential features (though preferred) and I have had no other problems with my camera to date. Being quite affordable in terms of introductory DSLRs today I would of still made the same choice when purchasing.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 129 people found this review helpful

Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Extraordinary Lens!
Jacko , Sydney , 10/12/13

This lens is fast, sharp and quiet. It's a brilliant lens considering it's price. The lens never comes of the camera regardless of its focal length. I would RECOMMEND THIS LENS TO ANYBODY. A great first lens to buy and performs exceptionally well. Anybody unsure about buying it, just go for it, I was once in the same boat and I have never looked back on buying it.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
62 of 130 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P520

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Sold it.
Victor , Melbourne , 10/12/13

owned it for over a week and half. sold it. putchased a Canon SX50. more zoom and faster processing photos. faster auto focusing.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
48 of 114 people found this review helpful

Nikon D7100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera
Kit Hamilton , Bali , 10/12/13

I'm very happy with my Nikon D7100! Excellent quality pictures, relatively uncomplicated to use. User's manual needs additional info on choosing a single focus point.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
63 of 128 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix FZ60

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great compromise between compact and SLR
Russell , Melbourne , 8/12/13

If your compact camera has not enough zoom or flash for you and you don't want to carry a bag full of gear with your SLR then this is a perfect compromise. Great zoom, great flash, great macro, can use fully auto or manual. Can be fitted with a filter to protect the lens when the kids use it. My wife is non techno and she loves it. Researched a lot of brands and this model stood out for features at a value price.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
52 of 101 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Fantastic low light photographs!
Sid , Canberra , 5/12/13

I bought this camera with the non-kit (15-85mm + prime) lens before going on holiday. The price during the October promotion was 1399$ and I got a great deal on the set.The pictures indoors and outdoors were fantastic and I loved taking videos at the push of a button. Also the LCD is large and gives superb colours, and the touchscreen was a pleasant surpise. I had a canon20D and the upgrade was worth it. The larger LCD screen and video capabilities make it an ideal vacation/home camera for kids and events. My partner has small hands and she found the camera easy to use despite being a bit bulky. The battery life was outstanding, we didn't recharge for days. The staff at TEDS were very helpful and actually said I could use my old 18-200mm canon lens with the new 70D body, but I wanted to give the old set away and purchased a new lenses. I am using this camera for family shots and a bit of outdoor photography, I could have gone for a slightly less expensive camera but I am happy I got something that will last me more than just a few years.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
87 of 171 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Nikon D3200
Nick Gasparini , 5/12/13

Absolutely fantastic camera! For my first DSLR, this is perfect: great image quality, easy to use and not too small and not too big - perfect for my needs!

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
68 of 97 people found this review helpful

Ricoh GR

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great Image quality in a tiny package
Mike , Auckland , 5/12/13

Only real photographers know about these Ricohs!
They were cult film cameras a few decades ago and now have a dedicated digital following. The camera has the same size sensor as a crop DSLR yet can fit in a pocket. Great grip unlike most of the competition. Every thing can be customised. I love mine (after selling a Fuji X100 to fund it). Very sharp and excellent for street photography.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
78 of 150 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very impressed
Marlei , Brisbane , 5/12/13

I originally wanted a simple point & shoot camera for a trip overseas but needed a viewfinder. This camera was bigger and heavier than I really wanted but the pictures I got more than made up for the inconvenience. Out of 1500 photos I deleted about 3 that were blurred but that was me shaking from the cold. Night photos still aren't great, but the hand held night mode does a better job than other cameras I've had in the past and could probably be better if I practised some more. I would definately recommend this camera. It is relatively easy to use and the I am impressed with the picture quality.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
71 of 138 people found this review helpful

Nikon Coolpix P520

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Value for money
Rob , Somerville , 5/12/13

Still learning, but have taken a number of shots and I am very happy. Test will come when I travel OS.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 103 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix FT5

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great outdoor camera
be202025 , Sydney , 5/12/13

Very easy to use and setup, very durable, takes great shots in water, just perfect to carry around to the beach or outdoors when the environment is more harsh and dont have to worry about getting water on the camera or accidentally dropping it on the floor.
Bought the floating wrist band to attach to the camera too, very handy too.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
70 of 134 people found this review helpful

Nikon D5200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great camera for the price & is easy to use. Love the flip out screen!!!
Glen Hamilton , Rockhampton , 5/12/13

Very happy with the D5200. Having the ability to review or take photos using the flip out screen is great! Would recommend this camera for general use & for first timers too.
Teds Cameras have always looked after us well too. Pity there isn't a store in Rockhampton!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 143 people found this review helpful

Canon IXUS 135

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Easy to use fits in pocket great for travelling
JS , 5/12/13

Fabulous small camera to take travelling easy to use and connects by wifi to other devices

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
44 of 99 people found this review helpful

Nikon D610

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
No Capture One support yet
jmap , 5/12/13

I'm pleased with the camera but its had very little use. I shoot captured and process the files with Capture One Pro 7 - or rather I will do when they release the software update to support this body. It was my ignorance not to check the camera was supported before I bought it. In hindsight I ought to have bought the D800E as it has support. My issues are more to do with buying a new spec camera rather than the camera itself. The camera seems fine - after all most modern bodies surpass the users capabilities.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
95 of 179 people found this review helpful

Fuji Finepix XF1

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great picture quality & Great camera Built
Retro Fan , Melbourne , 29/11/13

This camera is made from metal and has a retro style.
The picture quality is great and l love the manual zoom.
The battery life is very good and it has a lot of control if you wan t to use them.
Great value for money

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
77 of 154 people found this review helpful

Nikon D800 Body

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Amazing Camera (but take the time to learn about it)
Nic , Melbourne , 28/11/13

So I haven't been taking photographs for very long but I will admit I am a little obsessive and also a tech geek so a recent holiday gave me the impetus I needed to upgrade to a full-frame camera.

I was planning to wait for the D610, but given the timing decided to go the whole hog and get the D800 - a body that I am expecting to still be using for the next few years at least.

The camera is an amazing tool and has allowed to capture some wonderful shots whilst on leave. It's certainly not the lightest thing in the world, nor are the lenses that I have put on it (a Nikkor 24-70mm f2.8 and a Sigma 70-200mm f2.8) but it was certainly worth carrying around. The noise reduction at high ISO was especially useful for getting some great night time shots without a tripod or monopod (as they wouldnt fit in my backpack).

Overall an amazing camera but one that I would recommend reading up on (I read Nikon D800: From Snapshots to Great Shots from Peach Pit Press) to make sure you can take full advantage of.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Complicated, Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
74 of 138 people found this review helpful

Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC (Pentax)

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
An excellent all-round lens for general use,travel etc
Bogan Flea , Southern Queensland , 26/11/13

This lens lives on my K-01. I use it mainly for wild life. Focus is generally accurate and image quality is very good at all focal lengths. Images are sharp with good contrast.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
62 of 125 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 700D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent picture quality from a reasonably priced, quality camera
Mick N , Canberra , 23/11/13

I've only been using this camera for a few weeks but I am very impressed by the clarity of the lenses and the functional quality of the camera. Simple to use and easy to get great results.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
76 of 148 people found this review helpful

Canon Powershot G16

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Love it!
Lyn Terry , Fear tree Gully , 23/11/13

Find the wifi a bit confusing to set up! Would be nice if it came with a camera case available at time of purchase.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
94 of 188 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good bridge camera
Keen Amateur , Tamworth , 21/11/13

This is a easy to use camera that provides high quality images on all levels of zoom.
At top level zoom the camera can be a little slow to focus but the image quality makes it worthwhile.
The camera is lightweight and comfortable to handle.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
69 of 135 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Good update
Dianne , Melourne , 21/11/13

After updating from the 50D to the 70D the improvements for me are significant. Much better quality resolution.
Also the ease of using the buttons are much more user friendly.
Much faster in its operation and improved ISO.
On the down side the RAW shooting format is not supported in photoshop CS 5.5 or Lightroom 4 perhaps the newer versions of these programs have updates.
But it does come with a CD program to run on your computer which is good for the interim.

Pros: Easy to use, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 188 people found this review helpful

Fuji Finepix X10

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
One of the best cameras I've ever owned
Maddie , Victoria , 21/11/13

I absolutely love this camera, I've had it for a few months now and it is always surprising me. Hands down this camera is definitely one of the best I've owned, sure you know, it's probably not best for professional work or whatever but as a travel camera and one that can constantly come with you due to its compact and durable build it's brilliant. Despite what I read on the internet before buying this camera, I've found the video quality to be quite favourable and it is yet to really let me down.
The only things I would change about the Fuji X10 would be to somehow give it a slightly longer battery life and add a manual focus ring to the front of lens because it would just make it the extra bit awesome!

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
58 of 106 people found this review helpful

GoPro Hero 3+ Plus Silver

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Rubbish
Stephen , Sydney , 19/11/13

This is the biggest piece of rubbish I've come across. Over- rated rubbish. The battery life is non existent, charge one day and next day it won't even start up. They market these to cyclists but it is absolutely useless for cyclists. The overpriced accessories are all crap, they break and are about as cumbersome as you get.

It might be a big selling product but the hype of this way exceeds it's performance.

Cons: Complicated, Bulky, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
94 of 186 people found this review helpful

Canon Powershot SX280 HS

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Fantastic for the traveller amateur who wants professional looking photos
Amateur Snapper , Melbourne , 10/11/13

Love this camera. The zoom is excellent and the quality of the photos was amazing! Very happy. I used it travelling and it was compact, easy to store, and awesome value for money.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
60 of 128 people found this review helpful

Panasonic Lumix FZ70

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Fantastic all in one camera with amazing zoom.
Bigruss , Mansfield, VIC , 4/11/13

Having previously owned the older Lumix FZ50 for 7 years, (another great all round camera thats simple to use and takes great quality photos) we finally decided to update, when our backpacking son decided he'd love to take that one off our hands.
We decided to upgrade to the latest version- the FZ70. So this review is really based on views comparing it to that model - us being so used to and happy with that camera up until now.
Had the new one about a month now and just used it intensively on a 3 week overseas holiday- taking over 1300 photos and movies!!
Overall really impressed with the camera - takes fantastic resolution photos, with really easy to use features. Good enough to blow up to decent A2 size pictures on the standard auto settings.
We were immediately blown away with it's amazing zoom capability- it's huge for an all in one...no need to swap lenses camera!! The increase in clarity was immediately noticeable from our very first downloads testing it out both with close up and long distance shots.Really simple to use with full auto mode selected, just point and shoot - it does it all for you.
Movie function even easier than old model, with a seperate movie button. (no need to select movies from the dial). Great having the panorama photo feature now.
Do miss the old rear swivel LCD screen at times on the new one - was great when holding the old camera high above your head in a crowd, could easily see what you were taking by swivelling the display screen down.
Miss the ease of being able to force the flash myself quickly in auto mode- can't seem to do this on the FZ70, seem to have to select scene mode first to enable this. Also with its advanced metering system when on Auto, it seems to be a bit slow composing night scenery shots. You get a bit of time delay between shots as it wants to multi meter the image. The shots themselves turn out fantastic, just find you have to wait a little whilst it completes its metering each time, before it is ready for the next shot.
Enjoyed the new camera being incredibly quick, when wanting to take really sudden unplanned shots, like from moving vehicles or with wild animals on the move. Could go from turned off to instant shooting with the flick of a switch.
As said previous, only had the FZ70 for a month so still learning its real capabilities, (some of our negatives could be a bit of driver error :) ) but so far more than happy with our purchase, would recommend to others without hesitation, if looking for a really high quality all in one camera that takes fantastic photos without the need to carry around the extra lenses of a traditional SLR camera.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
79 of 155 people found this review helpful

Canon Powershot SX50 HS

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
First experience with non-compact, very happy
David , Melbourne , 1/11/13

Generally I found the camera easy to use without needing to read a manual. I still have many functions to better understand but we were just away for 2 months and we are very happy with the photos taken

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
66 of 139 people found this review helpful

Nikon D3100

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very good! Recommended
John , Sydney , 31/10/13

The camera is great, very solid, good quality and I really love it!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
90 of 163 people found this review helpful

Sony Cybershot HX300

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Overall great value for money based on features and quality
Rick , Melbourne , 29/10/13

Recently brought this camera to Europe and quality of photos produced were fantastic.'
Great options available for photo effects without using photoshop.
Very robust and surprisingly simple to access different modes and settings.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
91 of 175 people found this review helpful

Tamron SP AF 90MM F2.8 VC USD

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Great lens!
Kym , 28/10/13

I bought this lens around 6 months ago and haven't looked back. This is now one of my most used lenses. It is absolutely wonderful for portraits, newborns, weddings, and of course works a wonder on those macro wedding and newborn shots. With the right lighting, this lens will accomplish beautifully creamy bokeh and a stunning depth of field.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
72 of 145 people found this review helpful

Pentax K30

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent image quality, sensible controls and options, great compatibility with old lenses.
Raphael Fraser , Blue Mountains , 27/10/13

I've just stepped up from a Lumix G10 (micro 4/3) to a DSLR. I chose the K-30 because one of my main aims was to improve my astrophotography, and in my price range the K-30 seemed to have better low-light performance than the equivalent Canon or Nikon options - both of which are also replete with extra fancy options that I found irrelevant.

The K-30 has some excellent useful exposure modes not on the Canikon offerings, and useful things like a RAW/fx button which allows one to switch easily to shooting RAW.

I already had an old Pentax 50mm manual lens, and it just slips right on to the K-30, with fabulous results. (I've had four Flickr Explores in the couple of weeks I've had it, compared with none ever before.)

It also looks cool. ;-)

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
62 of 114 people found this review helpful

Sony HDR-AX2000

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Amazing product.. worth every cent
Rick Monk , Sydney, Australia , 26/10/13

I have only had the camera for a month, but within this time I have had the opportunity to film several events, but the best one was the Sydney Fleet Review Fireworks. ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZeLJW3712JA ).

This allowed me to learn very quickly what the camera is capable of and trying to use all of the features in the one shoot, Namely the ND filters which was mandatory for this type of filming.
The quality is outstanding and the Sony sensors work their best in low-light. Considering it was released nearly 4 years ago, this is technology worth purchasing.

The ability to control 2 separate input sound channels manually, convert the camera from a fully automatic to a manual camera gives the user complete control over the final result.

Over the coming months I'll be able to offer a more in-depth review, but so far I have no regrets and will recommend Sony product and Teds to all I can.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
73 of 152 people found this review helpful

Olympus Stylus SZ-16

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
GOOD COMPACT CAMERA
KMH , hoppers crossing , 25/10/13

EASY TO USE GOOD QUALITY

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
80 of 168 people found this review helpful

151 to 200 of 3142 Items

3142 Item(s)

10 20 50

Ted's Sharing your love of Photography

How'd they do that?
"Sunrise on the Mt." By Joel Strickland

Tips from the photographer

  • Get up early, the light at sunrise can be amazing.
  • Act quick, the light isn’t like this for long.
  • Shoot raw, it helps to capture the full colour range.

Equipment Used