1 to 10 of 3391

Nikon D750 Body

Nikon D750 Body

Best value semi-pro full frame DLSR on the market!
, 31/01/2016

Been looking at moving up to FX from my D7000 for a while and the D750 ticks all the boxes for me - especially the resolution and sensitivity (I'm a keen Aurora chaser and several of my fellow 'Aurora Australis Tasmania' buddies think it's the greatest). When I saw Ted's had it for under $2000, I had to buy. It is infinitely customisable, while the layout and controls are all familiar to any Nikon user. My only reservation is battery life - but this is compared to the crop sensor D7000, so may not be unusual.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Inca Tripod i3642B

Inca Tripod i3642B

Great Product
, 29/01/2016

An excellent Tripod,great size specially when fully extended,real stable,excellent for my Nikon Coolpix P900 camera,could not get a better tripod for the money,as good as anything you could buy.Highly recommended.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Fuji XF 23mm F1.4 R

Fuji XF 23mm F1.4  R

Perfect walk around lens
, 25/01/2016

Absolutely brilliant lens. Fast with excellent image quality across the frame and at all apertures. This lens creates a great perspective, and is ideal for travel and street photography. The fast aperture enables easy subject isolation and produces excellent bokeh.

Pros: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM

Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM

Not happy
, 25/01/2016

The product is flimsy. When trying to focus people/objects most times the right side blurs up. Always the right side

Pros: Compact
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Canon EOS M3 - Body Only

Canon EOS M3 - Body Only

Great image quality and handling with very accurate focusing and metering.
, 24/01/2016

Battery life is WAY higher than specs suggest. I never get under 800 shots and have shot well over 1000 images plus 8 mins of video on one battery charge (with enough juice left to transfer the files to PC). Touching the screen tells the camera where to both focus and meter. This effectively gives an almost spot metering wherever you touch the screen. Goodbye exposure compensation. Taking shots at festivals at Federation Square the performers are often in direct sun at the front of the stage with the back of the stage in deep shadow. On my DSLRs I have to constantly change exposure compensation depending on where on the stage the performers are. Along comes the EOS M3: tap a performer's face and the a face tracking AF square tracks the face while metering for it at the same time. Shoot away without any EC and get shot-after-shot-after-shot in near perfect exposure and sharply focused. This camera is very responsive when changing settings, focusing and shooting. It is many times faster than the original EOS M. If you purchase the cheap 90EX speedlite it acts as a master to trigger other Canon flashes, wirelessly.

There is a mode to shoot at high ISOs and get low noise (the camera takes 4 images in rapid succession and combines them into a single low noise Jpeg). There is an HDR mode and a handheld night mode, each taking multiple shots and combining them. Video focusing is very good, especially if you stay behind the camera and tap on what you want the camera to focus on. Focus pulling (shifting focus from one subject to another) is super smooth. There is a 2-axis on-screen level which is great for keeping horizons straight or verticals vertical.

The only negatives are as follows: although there is a fantastic app to control the camera with your mobile phone via Wi-Fi or directly, you cannot tether the camera to a PC or transfer directly to your PC via Wi-Fi. You have to transfer to the cloud (Canon Image Gateway) and then that synchs to your PC, which is rather slow. I have very large hands and I occasionally accidentally hit buttons with the base of my thumb when lining up a shot. I'm just about to focus/shoot when a menu pops up on the screen/EVF. This only happens when I am using a longer heavier EF/EFs lens and need to grip the camera properly. Using the native EF-m lenses allows me to hold the camera slightly differently and there is no issue. The camera can take 1000 Jpegs continuously with focus locks after the first shot at 4.2fps. I have timed mine and it took 48 shots in 10 seconds = 4.8fps. However, in servo AF mode (requires an STM lens) it slows to about 2-2.5fps. If shooting in servo AF with RAW the buffer fills after about 5 shots and slows to about 1fps.
In pros and cons above I "had to" choose at least one con. None of the listed items is a con on this camera so I choose screen size just so it would let me post the review.

The bottom line is that if you are not into fast action / continuous shooting - this camera is fantastic. Fast accurate AF, excellent metering, excellent touch to focus and meter functionality, excellent build quality, the screen is very good in direct sunlight and is tilt-able to make it even more legible. Set a custom picture style based on neutral or faithful and set 0,-4,0,0 (sharpness, contrast, hue, saturation) and you get a superior dynamic range in both video and stills. If you are into sports, wildlife and fast action where you need fast continuous AF and a great buffer then this is not the camera for you. I created a test website to show some of my sample images taken with the EOS M3 camera: http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/briandavies1/

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 G VR

Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 G VR

Nikon Class
, 23/01/2016

Razor sharp photos in low light.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Olympus OMD 17mm F1.8

Olympus OMD 17mm F1.8

Fantastic for candid portrait shots
, 21/01/2016

This lens is wonderfully quick and perfectly-suited to my favourite pastime of capturing friends and family in candid portraits, even in low light. I've never had so many compliments on my photography as I have with this great lens.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Yongnuo 50mm f1.8 - Canon

Yongnuo 50mm f1.8 - Canon

Excellent Value
, 20/01/2016

This lens is a brilliant "re imagining" of canons 50mm 1.8 I wouldnt hesitate to recommend one to someone as a first lens after buying a canon dslr kit.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Canon EOS 1DX Body

Canon EOS 1DX Body

Best camera I've owned to date
, 15/01/2016

I got this camera April 2015 after my old 1D got written off and got one of theses instead. I was very nervous at the start wondering if this would work and how bad the sensor would be in the way of dirt like everyone else has been stating on the interweb. At first my sensor got very dirty even after only 200 shots but that was only dust so I got out my sensor cleaning kit and brought it back to new it doesn't take much to do that I'm very fussy with cleaning my sensor as I don't like dust spots. Well now we are in January of 2016 I can say I haven't had any other issues apart from the sensor needing a clean at least twice a month, I've taken over 120,000 shots with this and its still going strong. The build quality is second to none as you would come to expect with the flagship range, sure it is heavyish but I'm so used to its weight now even when I have it attached to the big telephoto lenses like the 600L f4 IS I've used it with.

The image quality is slightly better than my other camera the 5D mark III which is quite surprising! I was covering a racing event in very poor lighting conditions where I was needing to use ISO's of 12,000 to 16,000 and the images where still usable I was blown away by this as my 5D wasn't able to keep up.

I'm not very good at writing reviews but what I will say is that if you look after your gear it will look after you, I would recommend this camera to a friend who was going to make his main income from this camera as its so reliable and I'd love to get another 3 or 4 its a truly amazing bit of kit.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall

Canon EOS 1DX Body

Canon EOS 1DX Body

Best camera I've owned to date
, 15/01/2016

I got this camera April 2015 after my old 1D got written off and got one of theses instead. I was very nervous at the start wondering if this would work and how bad the sensor would be in the way of dirt like everyone else has been stating on the interweb. At first my sensor got very dirty even after only 200 shots but that was only dust so I got out my sensor cleaning kit and brought it back to new it doesn't take much to do that I'm very fussy with cleaning my sensor as I don't like dust spots. Well now we are in January of 2016 I can say I haven't had any other issues apart from the sensor needing a clean at least twice a month, I've taken over 120,000 shots with this and its still going strong. The build quality is second to none as you would come to expect with the flagship range, sure it is heavyish but I'm so used to its weight now even when I have it attached to the big telephoto lenses like the 600L f4 IS I've used it with.

The image quality is slightly better than my other camera the 5D mark III which is quite surprising! I was covering a racing event in very poor lighting conditions where I was needing to use ISO's of 12,000 to 16,000 and the images where still usable I was blown away by this as my 5D wasn't able to keep up.

I'm not very good at writing reviews but what I will say is that if you look after your gear it will look after you, I would recommend this camera to a friend who was going to make his main income from this camera as its so reliable and I'd love to get another 3 or 4 its a truly amazing bit of kit.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Image quality
Ease of use
Build quality
Value for money
Overall
1 to 10 of 3391 Reviews