Lowepro Photo Hatchback 16L AW

Lowepro Photo Hatchback 16L AW

Thumbs Up
, 22/01/2015

Great Products with Great Price

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Kaiser Baas HD Media Hub

Kaiser Baas HD Media Hub

The best
, 22/01/2015

All you need to watch your movies, see your photos and listen to your music. It's size is compact and it's very light. I have mine permanently attached to my upstairs TV via HDMI AND WITH 2 USB and 1 SD Card slot there is always something to watch. It also has the capacity to read up to a 2 TB external hard drive. This quality of the picture is great too. I was so impressed I also bought one for my Dad and we have both had ours for ages with no trouble at all and the price is fantastic.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Olympus Stylus Tough TG3

Olympus Stylus Tough TG3

TG 3 Tough in Antarctica
, 21/01/2015

I took this camera to Antarctica where it worked very well but as expected the batteries don't last very long. Great photos ^ very easy to use.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Pentax XG-1

Pentax XG-1

Easy purchase, easy camera to use very happy
, 21/01/2015

Please see summary of review which covers all that needs to be said sufficiently, I am now simply typing to reach 50 words not to add anything constructive.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Reliable Convenient Printer
, 18/01/2015

This is my third printer haven't been able to use it wireless after multiple times trying to set up had to resort to cable which is disappointing as the main reason I bought it was the wireless option.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Canon KP-108IN Print Pack

Canon KP-108IN Print Pack

Get Snapping
, 18/01/2015

Excellent I have been using this product for years and will continue to.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Nikon AF-S 20mm f1.8G ED Lens

Nikon AF-S 20mm f1.8G ED Lens

crystal clear pictures
, 16/01/2015

Very easy on the eye, close ups as good as macro lenses and fills the gaps for the tight low lights.
Very happy>

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Overall

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

The Best Compact Camera I've Had
, 14/01/2015

I've owned & taken 2000+ photos with a Fuji 5500S (sold), 4000+ photos with a Panasonic FZ28 (sold), 4000+ photos with a Sony Rx100 (Still own), 4500+ photos with a Canon EOS 30D DSLR (Still own), & now 8000 photos with the Panasonic FZ200. Note: I have not retained all of these photos on my backup HDD, but at least 75% of them. I bought this camera as a lighter & easier all-in-one alternative to taking my 30D DSLR on a recent trip to the US, Canada & Alaska - where 4000 of the photos were taken! While the picture quality doesn't compare with a DSLR, the overall quality of photos is still quite impressive from the Leica glass. The colour, sharpness, saturation is quite good & manually adjustable in camera in addition to the preset modes according to personal preferences. Settings of +1/+2 sharpness, -1 NR, 0 saturation, 0 contrast seem to produce the best results, although this is according to my own personal tastes. There is evidence of some chroma noise (graininess) in pictures even using ISO100 in bright light conditions & it progressively becomes worse in darker areas of photos as the ISO level increases, but that's influenced by a combination of several factors including camera settings, the subject & lighting conditions, & the small 1/2.3 sensor which is known to produce a fair degree of noise when processing images after shooting... (virtually all cameras in this class do!) Unless you're a fastidious pixel peeper like I am, it probably won't even bother you! There's nothing that can't be corrected to a pleasing result with a little post processing using your favourite photo editing program. Until now I've been shooting using the native 4:3 aspect, but have recently started using the 16:9 format to match the resolution of widescreen format TV/monitors etc., which means the native 12MP mode is cropped to 9MP & then scaled up to full screen again. No loss of detail in the photos & the overall quality seems to be somewhat better as the small sensor isn't being pushed to it's limits. The camera itself is extremely versatile with that big zoom lens (24x optical with extended digital zoom not being recommended), allowing you to capture virtually anything you can set your eyes upon with a high degree of ease & clarity. I've taken photos of objects as close as ~1cm from the lens in macro mode to objects like high altitude jets passing overhead with an amazing degree of clarity & detail. Very easy to use as a full auto PS, or there's a range of semi-auto to full manual modes to cater for almost every situation that presents itself if you prefer a bit more of a challenge to capturing that 'perfect' shot. I prefer to use the higher resolution EVF when composing shots, but the full tilt/swivel 3-inch non-touch rear LED screen is also quite capable & fairly accurately displays a picture of what you're seeing even in bright outdoors conditions. The camera controls/buttons are easily reachable with your fingers with only light touch operation required & the quality feels all right. The built-in menu is fairly easy to navigate & logical in layout, although I've been using different camera menus/options for at least 7 years now so they start to become familiar after a while. For a first time user, the plethora of options/dual control options etc. may seem a bit daunting, but like anything it becomes a lot easier & more comfortable with persistent use (ie. you'll end up learning what works for you fairly quick & easy.) Play with the settings... you can't hurt anything! If all else fails, there's a reset to manufacturers default setting in the menu which will reset all camera settings back to when it was new. Start up time prior to shooting is an acceptable 2-3 seconds with about 5 seconds required for the lens barrel to reach to/or retract from full zoom. Battery life is really good. While shooting in NY & Vancouver, I easily achieved around 400 photos per day with plenty of charge left in the battery, so the rated 540 photos per charge seems fairly attainable, although this will drop considerably if you do a lot of zooming/screen viewing without actually taking any photos of course. I'm currently using a 64GB class10 70MB/sec SDXC memory card, which is necessary to capture the very good quality video the camera produces in MP4 or AVSHD format. I'm not an avid videographer, but the camera seems to be very 'full HD' capable with all formats being able to be edited using most HD video editing software with good results. One last thing I must mention... after taking 8000 photos with this camera it has suddenly developed an odd quirk with the menu & lens systems. While the camera is still fully usable, when any part of the menu is brought up for selection it suddenly starts continuously auto-scrolling through each successive option (over & over.) It can be manually stopped for a few moments & functions set etc., but then it continues scrolling through the menu list. In like manner, after zooming in to take a photo after a few seconds the lens barrel sometimes suddenly retracts back to default 1x zoom position without touching any controls whatsoever. I have checked menu settings many times for incorrect/unwanted settings, but everything is set where I want it. I'm thinking the built-in ROM chip that drives the camera menu/mechanics etc. may have developed a slight fault to cause this sort of odd behaviour. Other than this, I'm very happy with the quality of this camera & the photos it can produce overall. Definitely recommended as a light-weight, all purpose, carry anywhere camera that'll capture virtually any situation quite easily even in very low light conditions (my favourite!) It goes wherever I go & I've still got about 7000 of the 8000 photos to prove it! Thank you for reading this review & happy snapping!

The Digital Wizard

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Pentax XG-1

Pentax XG-1

Versatile unit, great when traveling
, 10/01/2015

Always been a Pentax fan, the quality of this unit is as good as expected, may pay to buy spare battery for long use sessions

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Nikon D5300

Nikon D5300

So far, quite happy with my pics.
, 10/01/2015

Still getting used to the D5300. I attended an air show and a car show and found no surprises when reviewing the pics. Under exposed compared my previous camera, but much, much faster to operate and capture action. Propellers on planes stopped dead in low light using A priority. Sun flares on paint & chrome controlled nicely - same setting. I haven't been right through the whole menu yet, so far, quite happy with my pics.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM

Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM

Great sports lens
, 10/01/2015

I purchased this specifically for equestrian events, as it is mostly a moderate speed, distance spectator sport. Never had an issue, and captured some amazing shots that would not have been possible without this beauty. Definitely a winner for me.

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Thank you and well done
, 8/01/2015

Steph did a great job dealing with a very diverse group of participants. Thank you and well done


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

The teacher was so helpful and informative. I feel so much more confident with my camera now.
, 8/01/2015

I got some amazing photos this morning. You were so helpful with all our questions and made it all seem easy.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Thank you for a fantastic day today
, 8/01/2015

Thank you for a fantastic day today – the course was great! I learnt a lot and enjoyed every minute of it.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Sony Cybershot RX100 MK III

Sony Cybershot RX100 MK III

Quite a very good Sony product.
, 7/01/2015

I also own a Sony A55 and the main reason why I bought this baby Sony is more on convenience. This baby Sony which is quite handy will be with me most of the time when I travel.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Inca Tripod i350 For DSLR w/Tripod Bag

Inca Tripod i350 For DSLR w/Tripod Bag

Inca 350, affordable, lightweight, perfect for small cameras
, 3/01/2015

At 3kg carrying load I would not go and put a Canon 5D, or Nikon D700 on this tripod, but for what it is, it's lightweight and sturdy enough for your smaller mirrorless cameras and lightweight camcorders. The locking mechanisms are a bit stiff and not that easy to operate, but it is what it does, it supports my Micro Four Thirds kit fine.

Pros: Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1

Excellent JPEGs straight from camera, astoundingly sharp 45mm lens, great autofocus
, 1/01/2015

After ten years with Canon, and a full time pro, I jumped ship to Olympus in mid 2014. Weight and size issues lugging two Canons and big lenses at weddings.

Absolutely no regrets with picture quality. Weddings are a breeze with face recognition autofocus, and the kit 40-150 is surprisingly sharp! But the 12-40 f2.8 is simply superb. Believe all the reviews.... it's spectacular.
I have no qualms shooting 1600 ISO in RAW + Fine Jpeg, processed in Lightroom 5, but in most cases the jpeg is excellent, and that means post production time is cut in half or less. I use the HLD-7 grip always, and have never run out of battery yet. Got low once, but swapped a fresh battery in the grip and was up and away again.
Only downside, and this is quite serious, is that the wheel function dials are too easily changed, and are not able to be turned off, that I have found. I do a lot of aerial photography, with shutter preference automation at 1/2000 sec, and more than once, I've found the shutter speed altered to a slower speed accidentally. Action happens quickly, and it's sometimes 200 frames between checking, and it's not good when you discover the speed at 1/30th! A simple firmware upgrade could help.
Night photos and time lapse movies are an absolute breeze, with the unique Live Bulb time feature. I'm still learning the menu items, and will probably get the new lenses when they've been around for a while. (40-150 and 7-14 Pro) Also, the ability to use obscure lenses with inexpensive adapters, (like my 1975 Pentax 500mm f4.5) is a real bonus. I LOVE this camera with passion. It has rekindled my enthusiasm for photography.(I still use a Canon 7D with 10-22 for real estate work-- the Olympus 9-18 isn't quite wide enough).

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Panasonic Lumix TZ60

Panasonic Lumix TZ60

Good but could be better. Buy a case to protect the camera during transport.
, 1/01/2015

Been using camera now for 3 months, poor battery life must be charged after every shoot. Have shot most photos on Scene mode, good reasonable photos but in editing you have to adjust the contrast on some photos. The 30x lens is good but use a tripod if prone to shakes. Still trying to work out the best settings for night photography, the built in flash is only just capable for fill in photos.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

LowePro Flipside 400 AW Pine Green

LowePro Flipside 400 AW Pine Green

compact backpack that fits a full frame with grip and 400 prime attached
, 1/01/2015

I had been searching for ages to find a backpack small enough to be usable when on the go at sports events, yet still hold my 6d with grip and 400 prime attached - and this bag does easily - and lots more - yet it is still (relatively) small. As well as this, it also holds my 70-200, 50, and another camera (crop), as well as spare cards, filters and hard drive etc etc. There are many pockets and storage spaces - as you would expect. It has a built-in wet weather cover - nice. There is even external pockets for my monopod - so all my gear is now in one backpack - that, importantly - doesn't scream "steal me, I'm full of expensive camera gear"... in fact, its 'plain looks' really help here.
Build quality appears excellent - but this will prove itself after a few years of use - but, it does look and feel great quality and so should last.
The price is very high, however. But, I have been searching for years for just the 'right' bag, so ultimately, if the quality proves good, the price becomes irrelevant. I'd be confident this bag would also be small enough (without monopod) to take on board a plane and store under your feet, and certainly in overhead storage.
Bottom line: Expensive, very high quality, holds an amazing amount of gear easily - ie 6d with grip and 400 attached plus everything else, and is not a large back pack. VERY IMPRESSED SO FAR!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Practice Makes Perfect
, 29/12/2014

Coming from learning on a Canon 1100D I figured I would try out something new that adopted mirrorl-ess technology and a more convenient light-weight package to carry around especially while travelling.

At first site like anybody else I was sceptical of the Olympus and it's overall user friendliness and functionality in comparison to Canon's simplicity of use. But from reading the instruction booklet and resources available on Olympus' website, I can't comprehend why so many oppose these types of cameras instead of embracing the new technology.

Firstly 2 viewfinders. One conventional like any other DSLR with the eye cup and another on a 3 inch LED screen that can fold flat. Having a big screen means easy access to viewing your settings more clearly for Aperture,ISO, WB, Exp Comp and the image you're about to take. My only gripe, pressing the OK button before being able to change settings. Otherwise pressing the arrow keys will lead to change in the viewfinder's focus point.

My favourite characteristic though is the fact that each time you adjust your exposure compensation, it modifies the display in the viewfinder so you can see roughly how the image will come out. That is a treat almost eliminating the need to over-edit finished images. The fast and sharp auto focus also helps stabilise the image quickly before snapping and the results are very finely detailed with rich colour and texture.

For people wanting to move from the beginner DSLR/Compact System camera into a world of high-end performance and strong picture quality, I would tell you to give this camera a go. It's light, compact and an ideal travel buddy.

Patience though when using it for great pictures is the key. It can seem quite complex at first but remember Canon seemed complex too when you first began using them.



Pros: Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall