BlackRapid Strap Camera Sling METRO

BlackRapid Strap Camera Sling METRO

Have been using this strap for about a year love it very comfortable and easy to use
David , Adelaide south australia , 31/07/2014

excellent strap love using it easy to use and comfortable

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Fuji X-E1

Fuji X-E1

Poor man's Leica
MikeScully , Melbourne , 24/07/2014

I wanted some thing smaller than my Canon 5d2 but as controllable and with excellent image quality. I considered a few others which had more features and better autofocus but my heart said the Fuji. I considered the xe-2 but I couldn't justify the extra cost for what seems to be an incremental improvement. Yes, the xe-1 is slower to focus and the screen is smaller but what the heck. So far the xe-1 is great to use and unobtrusive, which is more than you can say about a DSLR. So far so good, I think the Fuji and I are going to have a happy relationship.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus OMD 45mm f1.8 - Silver

Olympus OMD 45mm f1.8 - Silver

Excellent Prime lens
BC , Melbourne , 14/07/2014

Purchased for use with OM-D EM-10. Provides excellent images even in low level light. Tested it out at pub venue for taking pics of bands under extremely poor lighting. Managed to get fantastic quality pics without using a flash.

Highly recommended

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Gorillapod Original

Gorillapod Original

Very good for any angle on the ground!
Cal W , Melbourne , 13/07/2014

I used this for low angles where i set it up and left it recording, but soon found other uses for it like creating a homemade GoPole on a tent pole! This tripod doesn't disappoint, it will deliver amazing footage from Bumper BMX Videos to Salmon Snapping.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Tamron AF 16-300mm VC PZD

Tamron AF 16-300mm VC PZD

Very Pleased
Jim , Cairns , 11/07/2014

This type of lens must be to some extent a compromise over that range from 16 to 300, but I am pleased with the results across the range. After trying it at wide angle and then using 50% crop on macro image it is still sharp, and I have tried the 300 setting with 2000 shutter speed and still good results from ISO800. I will continue to use this single lens for a while and see if the results continue to please.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Gorillapod GP8 Focus + Ballhead X

Gorillapod GP8 Focus + Ballhead X

Extremely versatile...and not a bad weapon either...
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/2014

I got this because I can't yet afford a decent tripod for my height (5' 16.5"). No! I don't want to bend down to look into the viewfinder unless I have to.

These things are as good as they say they are. Build quality is very good. The Ball-Head X is great at this price point. I'm hoping that they build some higher-end head options for this tripod. Why? Well, technically I can fit pretty much any head to this tripod if I want to right now...but it would be nice to get some options that are designed for it...you know?... a bit smaller than normal heads. E.g. A fluid ball would be nice and maybe some variants for video and stills.

The fluid pan on this is really nice, but you have to be a bit careful with the ball bit...if you're camera is mounted and and you loosen it off your camera will flop to one side quite hard and could damage your camera or your fingers. Not a fault, just something to be careful with.

I've had this thing wrapped around a tree-trunk, railngs, and it fits in and on things that make it extremely useful in places that you just couldn't use a normal tripod. It's also great for macro. If I want a monopod, I just find a stick the length I want and pop the Gorillapod on top. And I've only had it for 6 days... :-)

Highly recommended for Nooooobs (like me) and Pros alike.

Cheers

Stephen G

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 70D

Canon EOS 70D

Excellent Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/2014

Please Note: This review (http://www.teds.com.au/reviews) also appears under the Canon 7D. I don't know how that happened, but it's wrong. I bought and reviewed the 70D. Thought I'd post my review again...with some 'Extra stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it':

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point. Make sure you ask Ted's for a price match!

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Extra Stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it:

Ok! Now that I'm an 'ex-spurt' with 2 whole weeks under my belt, I can say that this - WOW! If you've been using your iPhone (or Android as I do) Camera, then you're going to love this. Not to discount the phones, they're great...especially for scouting/researching shots in areas where you haven't shot before (which for me is everywhere). In fact I think I've used my Phone Camera more since I've been using my 70D. Very useful and complementary.

The 70D does everything it says it does, really well and really easily...but it's important to take your time and be patient...not with the Camera, with yourself...there's just so much to learn. It took me a week just to go through the Manual and get a vague idea of the potential of this Camera. I started shooting Manual and Raw on day 2 and it's shiploads of fun and not as hard as some would have you think. I use Auto if I'm just wanting to grab something quickly...I can come back to it later and get the shot I want.

I had a Code-Red after a couple of days because I got spots in my viewfinder; and I'm goin' "AAAAH! But I haven't even taken the lens off!" I didn't want to go dickin' around with sensors and mirrors so soon, so I took it into Ted's and the good ol' chappies set me at ease. Here's what they told me (my words):

1. If you've got spots in your viewfinder but not on your LCD Monitor, it's your mirror and not the sensor. Phew!

2. If it's on your mirror, it most likely dust which can be blown off easily (I bought one of those humungous Rocket Blowers).

3. 'But I haven't taken my lense off!' Dust will always get into Cameras...more so if you have a zoom lens (like my little kit lens - 18-55mm STM - which is great by the way), which both sucks and blows as you zoom in and out.

In short - Don't panic you silly ol' buggar! It's 'nooooorrrrrmal'!

I've since bought a Joby Gorillapod Focus with Ball-X Head (great!), and a Joby Ultra Hand Strap with Ulra-Plate. I don't like neck straps and I can't afford a full-size tripod for my height yet (I'm 5' 16.5"). So I got the Gorillapod and I'm gunna bung on a Surveryors Tripod (heaps cheaper, stronger, more solid than most camera tripods and only a bit heavier - about 3kg for a big one that suit my height). The hand-strap is great to (and I've got fairly big hands)...make sure you fiddle with the adjustment until you get your hand at the proper angle to reach the buttons. Some people say the strap is crap because they can't get to the buttons properly...I reckon they probably expect their cameras to make coffee for them too..

Oh! And I got a Larmor Screen Protector...which I broke in my first attempt at fitting. My other one arrived today. :-P

Ok! That's a wrap! Hope it helps a bit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus OMD 15mm Body Cap lens

Olympus OMD 15mm Body Cap lens

Simple fun photography
Paul W , South Coast Victoria , 1/07/2014

I wanted to reduce the size of my Lumix GX-7 so I could slip it into my bike bag or pocket. The kit zoom (non pancake) is quite bulky. So before I shell out for a pancake prime I thought it would be fun to try this lens. I didn't have great expectations for such a simple lens but it has exceeded those expectations. The results are plenty sharp enough for web or emailed images and at first glance you wouldn't easily separate the images from those taken with the kit zoom. It's refreshing to set a prime lens to hyperfocal distance and shoot. I do believe that creativity is higher with a prime lens.

It is not 'sharp to the edges' - it doesn't pretend to be that. It's sharp enough in centre field and for 'art photography' it will produce results according to your creativity.

It's a lens cap that shrinks your camera to a slim box and you can flick the cap open and shoot very much like the old Box Brownies.

You won't get more fun for the price. I love it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II

Excellent Optics
Susie , NSW , 30/06/2014

Excellent Lens , very good value , getting really sharp results consistently

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Vanguard Espod CX204 AGH Tripod

Vanguard Espod CX204 AGH Tripod

Excellent quality product
Susie , NSW , 30/06/2014

Very good build quality, easy to setup and to use, very stable and fantastic to pan with and chase aircraft around with, wish it came with bag but that's ok, I'm extremely happy with it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Sony Handycam NEX VG30 + 18-200mm

Sony Handycam NEX VG30 + 18-200mm

This is an exceptional camera that works well with my current SLR's
Armchair Geographer , Canberra , 27/06/2014

This camera offers versatility that I don't have in other cameras. It is compact does not need all the add on extras that are needed with the SLR options and has a great mic for general sound. As with any device there is a need to record sound on a separate system and this is especially true with other SLR's but much less so with this device and I can use old canon Sony and Carl Zeis lens options that are not available with other video cameras. Much has been said about it not having XLR inputs but neither do SLRs and this has quality sound great handling and great video quality that is a little let down in low light but adding a brighter lens usually overcomes that. The Kit zoom is really the problem in low light conditions and that is why you go for a camera with interchangeable lenses.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus OMD 75-300mm MKii

Olympus OMD 75-300mm MKii

Affordable, portable, and sharp enough most of the time
Southtrack , 24/06/2014

I got this lens to use on an EM5 I carry as a portable alternative to my SLR, so its an economy solution.

The auto-focus and sharpness cannot compare with a full frame Nikon telephoto. At the long end, it pays to brace the barrel against something, and fine tune with manual focus on digital zoom or focus assist if practical, so the CSC won't replace my SLR yet. (Might be different after Olympus's long focal length 'Pro' lenses come out.)

However, when one looks at 600mm equivalent in about the same size as a full frame 18-35mm, for under $500 after cash-back, it's hard to beat. The camera, this and a wide angle lens, take up just about no space in a bag. I'd be very unlikely to 'happen to have' a full frame alternative with me.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS 7D

Canon EOS 7D

New Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 23/06/2014

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point.

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

CamRanger Wireless Pro DSLR Controller

CamRanger Wireless Pro DSLR Controller

Excellent product
Gerard , Sydney , 19/06/2014

I have only had the CamRanger for about a week but it seems to be a great product.
Does what it says on the box!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon AF-S 28-300mm F3.5-5.6 VR IF-ED

Nikon AF-S 28-300mm F3.5-5.6 VR IF-ED

Depends on light conditions
Greg , Melbourne , 3/06/2014

I have had this lens for three weeks now and tried it in various conditions and with all long Telephoto lens this suffers the same problem with the Maximum zoom in poor light conditions. For sport photography in bright daylight the lens is fine but in overcast conditions the lowest Aperture is not good enough. In Landscape photography I found a lot of the images 1/3 stop over exposed. Not sure if this was a function of the lens or the camera or the high contrast conditions. Dark forest with bright sunlight through the clearings. The images were all high quality and clear and crisp. The vibration reduction was somewhat effective. As a general walk around lens it was very effective but for this I prefer the 24-70mm lens. For sports photography the F-stop at 4.5 to 5.5 is too large for poor light conditions.

Its advantages are relatively light for the maximum zoom (300mm) (compared with other lenses), good build quality, sharp images. On the downside, on maximum zoom poor light is a problem but then to rectify this you are going to pay a lot more then the cost of this lens.

Pros: Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus Stylus SZ-16

Olympus Stylus SZ-16

Awesome camera!
Dannyboi , Melbourne , 2/06/2014

I have used this camera to take photos as well as shoot video for media projects and Youtube. It has absolutely amazing quality, almost as good as an entry level dslr. The zoom is amazing and the lens has a very narrow depth of field when zoomed in. The only bad things about is that you cant shoot and record at the same time, it can't be used as a webcam and it doesn't quite fit in compact camera cases. Nevertheless, an amazing camera that is unbeatable for the price!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Awesome bang for buck printer!
David Le , Winston Hills, NSW , 2/06/2014

This printer is great for taking to different places, printing and sharing proper prints. Wifi connection is easy with iOS devices and in use, it is fun, quick and delivers excellent quality prints that I find more colour accurate than traditional photo kiosks.

A great reminder about how fun photography is when printing and sharing tangible photographs.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus PEN E-PM2

Olympus PEN E-PM2

Cheapest changeable lens camera with the fewest compromises
jim , brisbane , 31/05/2014

Looking to upgrade from my old point and shoot, I spent a while researching a few entry level priced choices - the Olympus PM2 and PL5, the Fujifilm X-M1, Sony A3000, Panasonic GM1, Pentax K5, and eventually decided on the PM2. I've had the PM2 for a month or so now and couldn't be happier with the decision. So - just to run down the pros and cons (and surprises) so far -

Pros -

* It's by far the least compromised interchangeable lens camera in its price range - if they could get a feature from the higher end Olympus cameras in there, it's in there. Image quality, especially for straight out-of-camera JPG, is amazing and more or less matches the higher end OM-D M-5/M-10 identically.

* It has two axis image stabilisation in the camera body, so for anything shorter than long telephoto lenses, you can pick from a lot more un-stabilised native or converted lenses, cheaper, and need to break out the tripod less often.

* Micro Four Thirds lens mount is pretty bloody good these days, with lots of options in every price range - perhaps could use some more quality wide angle and some faster telephoto options, but for everything else, it's extremely hard to find anything like the same options and optical quality at anything like the same size, weight and price.

* It has touchscreen controls, including touch to point focus and touch to shoot, and once you've gotten confident using the basic interface, you can switch over to a fantastic menu system (super control panel) where just about every setting available is displayed and can be changed quickly. The menu system is very fast and can store 4 quick change presets - not just of common setting options, but of every possible setting on the whole camera. Almost every button on the camera and the dial can be re-bound to different functions.

* Quite fast burst rate for a cheap camera (8fps without stabilisation), extremely fast (and quiet) single autofocus (very good even versus much bigger and more expensive cameras), good selectable face and eye detection, excellent flash setup options.


Cons -

* Video is not its forte, it's pretty much just "there" rather than "good". It does do proper 1080p rather than 1080i, but only at 30 frames with no other frame rates available. Video compression is sometimes a bit harsh for capturing fast movement of anything detailed. Inbuilt stereo mic is adequate. Overall - fine for better-than-smartphone youtube uploads, maybe not so much for anything else. 2 axis stabilisation is nowhere near as good as the 5 axis on the OM-D E-M5 for action video.

* Continuous/tracking autofocus performance is pretty ordinary - only at 3.5fps shooting speed, and will occasionally mess up without very good light. Perhaps a bit much to expect from a budget camera.

* No inbuilt viewfinder, and no inbuilt flash (a flash comes with the camera body, but it's detachable). You can have one or the other connected, but not both at the same time. That said you do have some excellent options for styles of flash and viewfinder (the new VF-4 EVF is even better than you'll find inbuilt on the higher end OM-D models), it's a shame they couldn't work out a way to piggyback them together.

* Manual is effectively online only, printed manual is totally inadequate. A few options that are critical to enjoying the camera (enabling the super control panel, switching the rear LCD panel to 'fast' refresh mode) require navigating very far down the advanced menus to switch on (seriously - very far!), fortunately this only needs to be done once.

* No focus peaking. On the PM2, you can use the ghetto, 'alternate' art-filter based focus peaking as some other Oly camera users worked out, but it's far from ideal and not the same quality as 'proper' focus peaking.

* Lack of physical controls might constrain you a little - only one dial, 4-way hat, and 6 function buttons (some lenses include another electrical switch button), though being able to store 4 different button binding "mysets" goes some way to address this. That said there is very little "intimidation" factor using it straight off, if you're upgrading from a point and shoot like me, you can use it like one with no hassles and crank out pretty good quality shots straight away.

Pleasant surprises -

* Art filters. Don't make the mistake of turning your nose up at these, they are far from just instant-instagram style filters and can produce some quite interesting pictures very quickly. Also great for turning a messed up shot into an "I meant to do that" keeper. You can even select multiple filters at once - it'll take a RAW photo, then copy it and apply a dozen or so different filters to the same base picture, and you can keep whatever ones look best. Of course, they're nothing you couldn't do in Lightroom, but they don't take hours of messing around in front of a computer to do, either.

* How very small and light it actually is, and how bloody good the output is for something so very small and light. I honestly hadn't thought this would be a factor at all, but having lugged my dad's DSLRs around from time to time, it's amazing. There's none of that pre-planning or hassle involved in "taking along a camera" - just bung it on the strap or in a bag and you hardly even notice you're carrying it. Smaller and lighter than even some point-and-shoots and the output is so much better.

* How good the cheap, bargain basement "bodycap" lenses are - the 15mm $50 bodycap and the 9mm $99 fisheye. Both are so small as to make the camera genuinely pocketable, both are very fun to use just running around and messing about. And they're actually not as terrible as you might think for something basically half the price of a budget lens put together - especially with art filters and a good eye for a shot. These are probably the two best lenses for actually improving photography skills I've found so far - it's all down to you to make them work.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon 1 AW1 Waterproof Camera

Nikon 1 AW1 Waterproof Camera

Good everyday camera
Rob , Melbourne , 18/05/2014

We got the AW1 on a recommendation from the sales rep as we needed something with a higher shutter speed as our kids do athletics. The AW 1 has the shutter speed we love, but the lense that comes with the camera is no existent so we needed to spend another $300 in getting anther lense which fits the camera, although this stops the water proofing that is another selling feature. The second lense has a good lower range zoom which is a big step up on the original lense. Next problem is that there are only a few lenses with the correct fitting for the AW1 so you need to purchase an adaptor which is another $300 or so, so it can become an expensive exercise to get the true camera we wanted and we were probably better off getting another nikon which has the lenses that we were after. Saying all this, the cameras pictures are great, it is easy to use, the camera fits into the hand well, battery lasts the day.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon D5300 Body

Nikon D5300 Body

This is a great enthusiasts camera
Gary Lum , Canberra , 16/05/2014

I love my D5300. I use it couple with a Nikon 40 mm MICRO for my food photography. Having the multiple focus points is fantastic. I can do everything in Manual and save a 14-bit RAW file to play with in Adobe Lightroom or Photoshop. The convenient self timer button means a steady body and a sharp image for slower speeds in lower light when I want a little more depth of field than usual with food.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money