Sigma 60mm f2.8 DN

Sigma 60mm f2.8 DN

Black edition with lens cap, case and 2 Years sigma warranty
, 17/05/2015

Fixed focal length of 60mm, Good ability in background separation,

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Nikon D7200 Body Only

Nikon D7200 Body Only

A good upgrade
, 8/05/2015

Have upgraded to the Nikon D7200 from a Nikon D50. The D7200 is proving to be a lot more complex than the D50 with many more menu options. The quality of the photos is outstanding.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Nikon Coolpix P600

Nikon Coolpix P600

Good Value For Money Camera
, 5/05/2015

Generally, for more specific photography requirements, I would use either of my Nikon D800's with their array of formidable F2.8 lenses; 10.5mm, 24-75mm, 80-200mm and 400mm. However, for travelling, the Nikon P600 ticks most of the boxes. It weighs considerably less than the 18.5Kgs my camera bag weighs (with most of my lenses onboard) and takes quite adequate photos in most, if not all, lighting conditions. I particularly like choosing either the view-finder or screen when composing a shot and the array of picture modes is incredible. The only issue that I have with the camera is the 60X optical zoom - the camera really needs to be on a tripod when taking shots with the zoom fully extended as auto-focus can be a little hard to attain at this range. The HD video is crisp and clear. This is an ideal camera for "spur of the moment" shots or when baggage constraints prevent me from taking all of my camera equipment.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Vanguard Alta Pro 263AGH (w/B&S Pistol Grip Head)

Vanguard Alta Pro 263AGH (w/B&S Pistol Grip Head)

Tripod
, 1/05/2015

Very pleased with the quality and build of this product. Very easy to use.

Pros: Build quality
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Sigma 10-20mm f3.5 EX DC HSM

Sigma 10-20mm f3.5 EX DC HSM

Lens produces pleasing results - minor image quality issues
, 30/04/2015

My first experience with a wide angle lens! Whilst this lens in comparison to a standard zoom affords additional coverage, there are unfortunately, a couple of negatives.

At its widest angle there is noticeable fringing / chromatic aberration towards the edges of the image which in most cases can be easily corrected in Lightroom. Also, there is some compression of perspective, which is especially noticeable in the foreground and at the corners of the image, i.e., people and objects can appear flattened.

In summary, despite the negatives, this lens produces crisp, clear images with good colour. I’ve tested this lens in various situations including cityscape and landscape locations. I consider this lens is best suited for landscape photography where any apparent compression of perspective is minimised.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Canon EF 24-70mm f4L IS USM

Canon EF 24-70mm f4L IS USM

Great Lens
, 29/04/2015

My first L series lens and I couldn't be happier. It provides sharp, nice and contrasty images with accurate autofocus. I had originally got the Tamron 24-70mm f2.8 but wasn't happy with the autofocus or its performance compared to my other Canon zooms. The Canon is also a lot lighter than the Tamron which complimented the size of my camera (70D). Teds Cameras happily obliged their 14 day return policy and even swapped the filter due to different thread size. Their service is great and I will be back.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Olympus OM-D E-M10 + 14-42mm & 40-150mm Black

Olympus OM-D E-M10 + 14-42mm & 40-150mm Black

Great camera at a bargain price
, 24/04/2015

This Camera is real value for money, I personally think it the best value mirror-less out there, with reasonable priced lenses which are also smaller than their aps-c counterparts.

Pros: Compact
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Nikon Coolpix P900 Black

Nikon Coolpix P900 Black

A truly amazing camera!
, 23/04/2015

I took delivery of this camera on the 5th March 2015 after using a Ted's pre release online order. A bit worried that I may have been a bit hasty but it has lived up to all of Nikon's new camera hype. I wanted it for photos and video of our new granddaughter. The hand held zooming capabilities are quite amazing due to Nikon's "Dual Detect Optical VR" in both photos and videos. Plug this camera into a UHD 4K television and you will be absolutely amazed at the results. I have a Nikon D600 and a Nikon D90 as well and all have their uses but this P900 is a joy to use. You have to get use to a bit more shutter lag but there are ways around that. The depth of field in mid telephoto shots is amazing as is the colour balance, no wishy colours. Shoot video at 60fps and take this camera for a walk using the flip out adjustable screen then play back through a 4K TV... you won't be able to stop smiling. I must stop raving on, it's only a camera - with some great features.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

EXCELENT
, 23/04/2015

The weekend was excellent. The accommodation was very good. Food was excellent and wines very reasonable.
Ric and Craig are a strong photographic team and also very good company.
The course was enjoyable and raised my knowledge to a higher level, which was why I wanted to attend. Flinders Island was a good location and Ric and Craig have sussed out the photogenic sites. Flinders Island also has a quaint charm about it.

All in all good fun and very helpful to the inexperienced photographer.

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

SIGMA AF 120-300mm F2.8 EX DG OS APO HSM (EOS)

SIGMA AF 120-300mm F2.8 EX DG OS APO HSM (EOS)

Superb for sports if one can handle size and weight
, 23/04/2015

Can't disagree more with the previous review.
I use this lens paired with Nikon D800/D810 just for sports shooting (soccer, swimming, basketball, etc.) from spectators areas, which means many tens of meters away from action. Providing sufficient light for shutter >1000 and ISO <2000, results are excellent, exceeding all my original expectations. I can often see single hair on players' heads (well, mostly after some sharpening) or dental work in images taken about half soccer field away. For focal distances <200mm there is no difference with images taken by Nikkor 70-200mm F2.8. Focusing is immediate both in single and continous mode, hardly ever lose a shot or an opportunity. Of course, it is big and heavy but not so much comapred to Nikon or Canon fast sports lenses, with enormous advantage of zoom, which Nikon and Canon do not have. Moreover, unlike those Nikon and Canon monster pro lenses, you can use this Sigma hand-held and move around not attached to tripod or monopod. Once you have got it and used it, you can get addicted to it.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Olympus OM-D E-M10

Olympus OM-D E-M10

Great camera for work & play.
, 22/04/2015

Owned for 4 months now. With the 14-42 and 40-150 mm lenses this camera has great versatility for a "serious amateur". I cut my teeth on Olympus OM1s & 2s back in the 1970's & 80's. (Still have 'em). This brings many of the same attributes to the digital world - small size, good "feel", great image quality, excellent "build" (though the port cover is a bit "dinky toy", and the hot shoe protector & eyecup are easy to dislodge when "bagging"). Love it. Felt "at home" with it right away. On the negative side, its focus selection can get caught out on occasion in some circumstances. But for me its a great work camera (I'm an anthropologist) and terrific fun around the house and town with people and passing wildlife etc., too. Heartily recommended.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro USM

Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro USM

Excellent lens!
, 16/04/2015

Easy to use, top quality images, great starting macro lens for beginner photographers like me!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Epson Perfection V800 Film & Photo Scanner

Epson Perfection V800 Film & Photo Scanner

Software problems
, 16/04/2015

The simple software supplied with the scanner works well on most film type and pictures. But I cannot get it to accept some sizes as it defaults to an other size. eg Half frame 35mm and 4 x 5cm large format. The Silverfast 8 software is very poorly designed and takes an excessive amount of time to scan. (I am required to mark all fields above even those that are not relevant such as battery life.)

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

Great Value for Money and will do it again
, 16/04/2015

On looking at this course I initially thought it was a little expensive for a weekend, but my wife talked me into registering. At the conclusion of the weekend my thoughts had changed as this experience was out of this world, exceeding all my expectations and was great value for money. Ric and Craig took us to spectacular locations where they both showed us what taking landscape photos was all about. Each morning after breakfast Ric would take one photo from everyone and process it, showing us what can be done simply, to enhance the photo and the principles of histograms, along with photo composition. As a result of this trip I have a far better understanding of my camera and the composition of my photos. Thanks to the support of Ric and Craig I came away from this weekend with several hero photos.

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Nikon Coolpix P900 Black

Nikon Coolpix P900 Black

Amazing camera!
, 15/04/2015

What a fantastic camera! Extremely easy to get up and running, but it will take a while to get accustomed to the finer details, as with any camera. The focal length capability is phenomenal. I can't really comment on the battery life as I've only had the camera for 2 days - I'll give that 5 stars as well, but I am sure, as with any Nikon product (I have a Nikon D90 DSLR with an 18-300mm lens and a Nikon Coolpix S9100 compact), that I will not be a disappointed. May I add that the service that you guys at Ted's Cameras provided was excellent - this is not the first item that I have bought online from Ted's Cameras. So, in a nutshell - great camera and great service!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Understanding Your Camera Course - NEW FOOTSCRAY LOCATION!

Understanding Your Camera Course - NEW FOOTSCRAY LOCATION!

Excellent and Practical Course
, 14/04/2015

I found Glynn to be a fantastic teacher very knowledgeable, approachable and relaxed. The course size of 6 students meant we all got the attention necessary and each person could explore the functionality of their own camera. I am already which course I will enrol for next.


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Nikon DF-N1000 Viewfinder (For Nikon 1 V3)

Nikon DF-N1000 Viewfinder (For Nikon 1 V3)

Good price for a quality product
, 14/04/2015

Using the nikon 1 v3 with the 70-300 lens handheld is virtually impossible without the EVF. I recently captured birds in flight only possible (for me) with the evf.

It works well with the autofocus. feature of the nikon 1. I believe the V3 should be sold as per in the USA where the EVF and extra grip is part of package - much needed to make the purchase complete. As to the EVF N1000 is excellent it keeps pace with the camera and the resolution is more than adequate with wild life shooting.

Overall a very satisfied customer.

Pros: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Pentax DA 35mm f2.4 AL SMC

Pentax DA 35mm f2.4 AL SMC

good alternative to bulky zooms
, 14/04/2015

good alternative to bulky zooms, but fo a normal lens a better aperture than f/2.4 would be appreciated

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Pentax DA 18-270mm f3.5-6.3

Pentax DA 18-270mm f3.5-6.3

A good lens to cover all bases whilst travelling
, 14/04/2015

As above, is also combines well with the Pentax 18 - 135 lens and that is all I shall need in my pack

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

SanDisk 16GB SDHC Ultra Card 30MB/s (Class 10)

SanDisk 16GB SDHC Ultra Card 30MB/s (Class 10)

Great camera. easy to use, convenient to carry and excellent results.
, 10/04/2015

On its first sea dive documenting the health of Seastars, at Jawbone Marine Sanctuary. theTG3 performed beautifully. Coastcare wish to do an article using my shots. The microscope feature is wonderful. It is also handy in the field. Compact enough to hang around my neck all day but handy when needed.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall