Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

Flinders Island Photographic Weekend with Ric Wallis

I had a wonderful time and did improve my photographic skills.
, 9/02/2015

To have the opportunity to experience landscape photography in a unique environment is amazing.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Fuji Instax Mini Instant Film 50pk Fun Pack

Fuji Instax Mini Instant Film 50pk Fun Pack

Options
, 7/02/2015

There Needs to be more options. It would be good if you could include film designs such as stripes or air mail. So like you can choose any 5 colour combos. Otherwise its pretty good. Deal. Ya ya.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Overall

Sony CX900

Sony CX900

Sony HDR-CX900E Video Camera
, 5/02/2015

Upgraded from a Sony CX700 Video Camera to the CX900E in November 2014 for our cruise around South America, purchasing the camera through Ted's Sydney store. Moving from a camera which recoded to an internal storage (the CX700) to a camera that only records to removable SD card, I was a bit concerned about running out of memory, so added in a Lexar Pro 128Gb 600x SDXC Card and a Sandisk Extreme Plus 64Gb 80Mbs SDHC Card. After 5 weeks of shooting video, I needn't have worried as I still had almost 60% or 9 &3/4 hours of storage shooting hi-definition FH. I also purchased the Sony NP-FV100 Battery (I was able to recharge this fairly regularly) plus a Tri-pod as the camera is much larger and heavier than the CX700, I was a bit worried about camera shake if shooting one hand.
It took a while to get used to handling the camera due to its size, but after a while I was quite happy with its feel.
The zoom function is different to the CX700 (the zoom button North-South as opposed to East-West) , however it operated quite smoothly when I got used to it.
The camera allows a lot more manual adjustments, such as Iris control, ISO Gain, Shutter speed and manual exposure than the CX700. I let the camera do most of the work, leaving most of these on Auto. However there were occasions , particularly on bright sun-lit days, when the camera was turned on the scene was over-exposed. The only way to compensate was to use the manual filter selection, or turn the camera off and back on again.
I use Corel Video Studio Pro X7 for editing , however have noticed that the scenes now take much longer to import onto the video track, possibly due to the larger format.
I have played back the video through our hi-definition TV straight from the camera and am impressed with the quality. I had tossed up purchasing the Sony AX100 - 4K (same camera body ) however as we only use the camera for mainly personal use, the CX900 presented better value.
With more use I hope to learn more about the cameras features.
Overall seems to be a good camera giving high quality video for advanced users, without having to spend more money moving into the more professional models.

Pros: Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Excellent for beginners. Five stars.
, 5/02/2015

The walkabout tour was excellent for those like me starting out or being reminded of the basics. Steph the guide was friendly, enthusiastic, helpful and knowledgeable. Great communicator who explained matters in an easy to understand manner. I learned a lot from this tour. Five stars.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Excellent for beginners. Five stars.
, 5/02/2015

The walkabout tour was excellent for those like me starting out or being reminded of the basics. Steph the guide was friendly, enthusiastic, helpful and knowledgeable. Great communicator who explained matters in an easy to understand manner. I learned a lot from this tour. Five stars.

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Elite Black + 14-42mm

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Elite Black + 14-42mm

Great camera with some minor flaws
, 4/02/2015

This is my second E-M5 (purchased this one as a backup). I'm gradually moving from a Nikon DSLR setup to something lighter but with somewhat comparable image quality. The OMD system seems to fall into a good window between quality and ease on my back carrying kit around all day. I'm especially pleased with the optics Olympus are releasing (the 12-40 2.8 matches anything I've used on a DSLR). My one quibble is the user interface on the camera; their menu system, compared to Nikon, is a mess of sub-sub menus with confusing names and overlapping options. It's one thing that could do with a major firmware upgrade. Also, and this is just a matter of the physical size of the camera, it's a bit of an adjustment to go from having physical buttons for important operations like ISO and WB to having to change that in a menu. I've one complaint with Ted's here, the camera I received was not the 'Elite Black' version but the standard kit; it's not a big deal as it's basically the same camera. When I called the representative said that the 'Elite Black' version was no longer in stock. Regardless, great little camera.

Pros: Compact, Build quality
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Overall

Nikon Coolpix S9700

Nikon Coolpix S9700

Great little camera
, 4/02/2015

It is a compact size, and feels like a good quality product. The controls on the back are small and fiddley but that's normal nowadays. The zoom with image stabilisation is great.
The hardest part was hooking up the wifi to my iPad. The manual was pretty hopeless, but a Youtube search put me on the right track. The gps tracking is great, which is one of the features I was looking for in a camera. However, it again took a YouTube search to find you have to download a Nikon programme to embed your photos on Google maps.
It's a great little camera for travelling with enough manual control if you need it, but it takes a while to understand every feature.
In summary, I am very happy with the camera and would recommend it.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Today with Steph
, 1/02/2015

What a fun and informative Walkabout Melbourne Photography Workshop this morning with Steph. I had fun and learnt how to be more creative with my camera....loved our small group of only 9....lots of 1:1 assistance as required......I would recommend this Workshop to others...in fact I can't wait to do another hands on workshop with Steph in the future. We had a lovely group.


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Melbourne - City Walkabout Photography Class

Walkabout Melbourne Photography Workshop
, 1/02/2015

I have just returned home in the Yarra Valley after attending the Walkabout Photography Workshop. I had a wonderful time learning a few more tips and techniques that I can now apply with my Nikon 610 camera. We only had 9 participants which meant plenty of 1:1 time with the Professional Photographer.....Steph. She was a wonderful teacher ....very helpful and very knowledgable. I thoroughly recommend this Workshop to others...in fact I am thinking of booking in to another of Steph's Workshops in the future.


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

SanDisk 32GB Ultra Micro SD Card

SanDisk 32GB Ultra Micro SD Card

Memory card for Handycam
, 31/01/2015

Great, no complaints

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Overall