Tamron SP AF 24-70mm f2.8 Di VC USD

Tamron SP AF 24-70mm f2.8 Di VC USD

For the money you can't beat this lens. At about f/5.6 the image is very sharp. Sharpness seems to drop off at f/2.8 in low light. Might be an auto focus issue.
, 27/02/2015

Its a new lens and I have only done a few video shoots and still shoots with it so not that familiar with it yet but very happy with the cost to quality ratio with this lens. I checked out online reviews before buying comparing this lens to the Canon 24-70mm II and seriously you get a terrific lens with the Tamron 24-70. The stablization is something that Canon doesn't have but it appears to drain batteries faster than other lenses I've used if it is on shooting video. So turn it off when on tripod. If you are on a budget and trying to make things pay for themselves get this Tameron 24-70mm lens.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Overall

Fuji X-M1 + 16-50mm Kit Black

Fuji X-M1 + 16-50mm Kit Black

Great image quality
, 27/02/2015

Although housed in a plastic body and made in Thailand, rather than the heavier more aesthetic metal E2 or higher X series cameras that are made in Japan, I was delighted with this camera. As a consequence of its manufacture and amateur target audience, it is compact, light and the manual controls are less obvious/distracting. Nonetheless, all the same features, including bulb and 30" exposures for instance and aperture or speed priority modes are still there and the top of camera f-stop dial is there, simply unmarked. The capabilities of the camera body, chip and image quality, most notably the beautiful Fuji colour reproduction are the same as its big brothers. The kit lens is nothing special, slower than the higher-end kit lenses by Fuji of comparable zoom range. The slower speed of the lens is the only limitation. I tried putting a fast prime on the camera. This was obviously heavier and more bulky because the lens is metal and glass, but then the camera body was capable of producing very high quality images with the sharpness and bokeh you can expect from good quality glass, and the good thing is that the body is compatible with the range of XC and XF Fuji lenses, including top quality ones. If you want a more compact version of a camera, or are starting out and want to add to your collection gradually, this is a reliable body that could be very nicely enhanced in due course with the purchase of better lenses. Because it is aimed at the consumer market and competing with other brands and the immediacy of social media sharing, it has the excellent WiFi share feature on the Function button. This allows you to wirelessly share images with friends or send them to your smartphone or tablet or computer to whack onto instagram or FB whilst away from your computer. The software apps for this on the iPhone and first few attempts I found somewhat finicky but after I developed the knack, which is not perfectly explained in the instructions, it has become a shortcut for uploading to FB. Images for phone are somewhat downsized so you can upload them full-size to your computer for more serious tasks. I think it is incredible to fit an interchangeable lens camera into such compact size and weight. I would call this handbaggable but obviously the higher quality or longer lens you stick on it, the larger it becomes. Although only 10g difference to X-E2 it somehow feels much more lightweight. It is plastic but the all-black version makes this less obvious and not tacky. The only downside of that is that the lens mount is also plastic on the new XF kit lens. That feels less assured, however I would hazard a guess that one will ditch the kit lens and upgrade at the first opportunity. Really good value for money. I bought mine when there was a sale and the $100 voucher allowed me to order a spare battery. The image quality compared to a fixed-lens regular compact camera is incomparable, especially if you have some extra house to adjust White Balance, exposure, aperture and film simulation according to the situation. Right of the box on auto modes, however, it performs excellently so even a newcomer to photography could benefit from the excellent image quality without fully exploring the menu options.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Canon EF 100mm f2.8 L Macro IS USM

Canon EF 100mm f2.8 L Macro IS USM

Great lens, fantastic for macro, doubles as portrait lens.
, 27/02/2015

If you're looking for a macro lens, look no further.
The canon 100mm macro F2.8L with IS offers 1:1 image replication. This enables you to snap postage stamp sized objects that will fill your entire frame.
To ensure adequate depth of field in macro focusing region this lens stops down to f32 if required. The built in image stabilizer aids in removing any handheld camera shake.
Focus limiters allow you to limit the auto focus to close or far range to aid in reducing focus times when trying to lock focus on a low contrast object.
100mm just falls into the portrait focal length. This lens doesn't disappoint. Creating sharp images without needing to stop down. F2.8 and F4 at 100mm provide nice separation between the subject and the background.
The IS system creates a decent amount of whining, noticeable if using the cameras internal microphones during video recording. This can be alleviated by external microphones. Something to be aware of.

Canon L lens quality means this lens will easily outlast the life of your DSLR if treated well.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Nikon WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

Nikon WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

Product performs as described
, 26/02/2015

Easy to set up & use, had no issues setting up wifi & unit did exactly as promised.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Overall

Hoya 77mm NDX400 HMC filter

Hoya 77mm NDX400 HMC filter

The filter is excellent, and arrived promptly. I was able to use it on the next weekend.
, 23/02/2015

The filter is excellent, and arrived promptly. I was able to use it on the next weekend.

Pros: Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Overall

Nikon DF

Nikon DF

excellent design but disappointing
, 21/02/2015

Poor battery life lucky to get 350 shots. poor auto focus in low light, No af assist lamp.in low light camera cant focus and just gives up. Recommend a external flash with af assist beam.

Like the dials and build quality. Excellent image quality. But wouldnt reccomend it as its overpriced. Battery and low light focus is frustrating. Buy a nikon d750.

Pros: Build quality
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Excellent course that will enable to get to the next level
, 21/02/2015

Glynn's workshop was excellent, with practical hands-on demonstrations and easy-to-understand walk-throughs. For the first time, I feel confident in using manual mode and am thrilled to be able to take back control of the camera. Thanks Glynn!

Pros: Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall

Kaiser Baas HD Car Camera > Digital Video Camera

Kaiser Baas HD Car Camera > Digital Video Camera

Easy to use
, 21/02/2015

We like the setup, good and easy to use, down loaded sd to IPad, with good image of the short trip to test unit

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Overall

Sigma AF 150-600mm f5-6.3 DG OS HSM Sport

Sigma AF 150-600mm  f5-6.3 DG OS HSM Sport

Built like a tank and takes superb images
, 18/02/2015

Like all reviews, this lens is a beast (heavy), but built like a tank, although the feel and handling is still very nice. Focus speed is very fast given the amount of glass and weight it has to move around. It's also silent.... If you use the focus range limiter, then focus speed is even faster. I'd suggest using the Sigma dock with it and customise focus ranges etc using the two custom switches for even more focus performance...

So far image quality is superb at all apertures and zoom settings. The OS (optical stabiliser) is definitely worthwhile and gives you at least 2 extra stops of speed. Very impressive indeed for such a large zoom.... Also definitely recommend using a monopod or tripod, after 10 minutes your arms will be sore and shaky...

Also great service as usual from Ted's!!

Highly recommended

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for money
Battery life
Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Overall

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course

Melbourne - Understanding Your Camera Course
, 16/02/2015

Glynn was lively and very entertaining but, above all, kept us moving during the day and drew on his considerable depth of experience to hold a most informative session delivered with great clarity. So much so, that this "dummy" had no trouble keeping up with him. I was utterly amazed that, in such a short time, we were taken from the easy road of using automatic and semi automatic settings on our cameras to operating on "M". I now feel bold enough to experiment on the manual setting and I have actually managed to create one or two interesting shots. I would recommend this course to anyone embarking on the DSLR journey.

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use
Build quality
Image quality
Value for money
Battery life
Overall