Shopping Cart: 0 items shopping cart

Customer Reviews

31 to 40 of 3163 Items

3163 Item(s)

10 20 50

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/14

Please Note: This review (http://www.teds.com.au/reviews) also appears under the Canon 7D. I don't know how that happened, but it's wrong. I bought and reviewed the 70D. Thought I'd post my review again...with some 'Extra stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it':

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point. Make sure you ask Ted's for a price match!

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Extra Stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it:

Ok! Now that I'm an 'ex-spurt' with 2 whole weeks under my belt, I can say that this - WOW! If you've been using your iPhone (or Android as I do) Camera, then you're going to love this. Not to discount the phones, they're great...especially for scouting/researching shots in areas where you haven't shot before (which for me is everywhere). In fact I think I've used my Phone Camera more since I've been using my 70D. Very useful and complementary.

The 70D does everything it says it does, really well and really easily...but it's important to take your time and be patient...not with the Camera, with yourself...there's just so much to learn. It took me a week just to go through the Manual and get a vague idea of the potential of this Camera. I started shooting Manual and Raw on day 2 and it's shiploads of fun and not as hard as some would have you think. I use Auto if I'm just wanting to grab something quickly...I can come back to it later and get the shot I want.

I had a Code-Red after a couple of days because I got spots in my viewfinder; and I'm goin' "AAAAH! But I haven't even taken the lens off!" I didn't want to go dickin' around with sensors and mirrors so soon, so I took it into Ted's and the good ol' chappies set me at ease. Here's what they told me (my words):

1. If you've got spots in your viewfinder but not on your LCD Monitor, it's your mirror and not the sensor. Phew!

2. If it's on your mirror, it most likely dust which can be blown off easily (I bought one of those humungous Rocket Blowers).

3. 'But I haven't taken my lense off!' Dust will always get into Cameras...more so if you have a zoom lens (like my little kit lens - 18-55mm STM - which is great by the way), which both sucks and blows as you zoom in and out.

In short - Don't panic you silly ol' buggar! It's 'nooooorrrrrmal'!

I've since bought a Joby Gorillapod Focus with Ball-X Head (great!), and a Joby Ultra Hand Strap with Ulra-Plate. I don't like neck straps and I can't afford a full-size tripod for my height yet (I'm 5' 16.5"). So I got the Gorillapod and I'm gunna bung on a Surveryors Tripod (heaps cheaper, stronger, more solid than most camera tripods and only a bit heavier - about 3kg for a big one that suit my height). The hand-strap is great to (and I've got fairly big hands)...make sure you fiddle with the adjustment until you get your hand at the proper angle to reach the buttons. Some people say the strap is crap because they can't get to the buttons properly...I reckon they probably expect their cameras to make coffee for them too..

Oh! And I got a Larmor Screen Protector...which I broke in my first attempt at fitting. My other one arrived today. :-P

Ok! That's a wrap! Hope it helps a bit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
51 of 97 people found this review helpful

Olympus OMD 15mm Body Cap lens

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Simple fun photography
Paul W , South Coast Victoria , 1/07/14

I wanted to reduce the size of my Lumix GX-7 so I could slip it into my bike bag or pocket. The kit zoom (non pancake) is quite bulky. So before I shell out for a pancake prime I thought it would be fun to try this lens. I didn't have great expectations for such a simple lens but it has exceeded those expectations. The results are plenty sharp enough for web or emailed images and at first glance you wouldn't easily separate the images from those taken with the kit zoom. It's refreshing to set a prime lens to hyperfocal distance and shoot. I do believe that creativity is higher with a prime lens.

It is not 'sharp to the edges' - it doesn't pretend to be that. It's sharp enough in centre field and for 'art photography' it will produce results according to your creativity.

It's a lens cap that shrinks your camera to a slim box and you can flick the cap open and shoot very much like the old Box Brownies.

You won't get more fun for the price. I love it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
46 of 97 people found this review helpful

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Optics
Susie , NSW , 30/06/14

Excellent Lens , very good value , getting really sharp results consistently

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
52 of 99 people found this review helpful

Vanguard Espod CX204 AGH Tripod

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent quality product
Susie , NSW , 30/06/14

Very good build quality, easy to setup and to use, very stable and fantastic to pan with and chase aircraft around with, wish it came with bag but that's ok, I'm extremely happy with it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
42 of 82 people found this review helpful

Sony Handycam NEX VG30 + 18-200mm

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
This is an exceptional camera that works well with my current SLR's
Armchair Geographer , Canberra , 27/06/14

This camera offers versatility that I don't have in other cameras. It is compact does not need all the add on extras that are needed with the SLR options and has a great mic for general sound. As with any device there is a need to record sound on a separate system and this is especially true with other SLR's but much less so with this device and I can use old canon Sony and Carl Zeis lens options that are not available with other video cameras. Much has been said about it not having XLR inputs but neither do SLRs and this has quality sound great handling and great video quality that is a little let down in low light but adding a brighter lens usually overcomes that. The Kit zoom is really the problem in low light conditions and that is why you go for a camera with interchangeable lenses.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
46 of 90 people found this review helpful

Olympus OMD 75-300mm MKii

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Affordable, portable, and sharp enough most of the time
Southtrack , 24/06/14

I got this lens to use on an EM5 I carry as a portable alternative to my SLR, so its an economy solution.

The auto-focus and sharpness cannot compare with a full frame Nikon telephoto. At the long end, it pays to brace the barrel against something, and fine tune with manual focus on digital zoom or focus assist if practical, so the CSC won't replace my SLR yet. (Might be different after Olympus's long focal length 'Pro' lenses come out.)

However, when one looks at 600mm equivalent in about the same size as a full frame 18-35mm, for under $500 after cash-back, it's hard to beat. The camera, this and a wide angle lens, take up just about no space in a bag. I'd be very unlikely to 'happen to have' a full frame alternative with me.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
37 of 75 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 7D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
New Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 23/06/14

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point.

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
28 of 54 people found this review helpful

CamRanger Wireless Pro DSLR Controller

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent product
Gerard , Sydney , 19/06/14

I have only had the CamRanger for about a week but it seems to be a great product.
Does what it says on the box!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
45 of 80 people found this review helpful

Nikon AF-S 28-300mm F3.5-5.6 VR IF-ED

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Depends on light conditions
Greg , Melbourne , 3/06/14

I have had this lens for three weeks now and tried it in various conditions and with all long Telephoto lens this suffers the same problem with the Maximum zoom in poor light conditions. For sport photography in bright daylight the lens is fine but in overcast conditions the lowest Aperture is not good enough. In Landscape photography I found a lot of the images 1/3 stop over exposed. Not sure if this was a function of the lens or the camera or the high contrast conditions. Dark forest with bright sunlight through the clearings. The images were all high quality and clear and crisp. The vibration reduction was somewhat effective. As a general walk around lens it was very effective but for this I prefer the 24-70mm lens. For sports photography the F-stop at 4.5 to 5.5 is too large for poor light conditions.

Its advantages are relatively light for the maximum zoom (300mm) (compared with other lenses), good build quality, sharp images. On the downside, on maximum zoom poor light is a problem but then to rectify this you are going to pay a lot more then the cost of this lens.

Pros: Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
47 of 88 people found this review helpful

Olympus Stylus SZ-16

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Awesome camera!
Dannyboi , Melbourne , 2/06/14

I have used this camera to take photos as well as shoot video for media projects and Youtube. It has absolutely amazing quality, almost as good as an entry level dslr. The zoom is amazing and the lens has a very narrow depth of field when zoomed in. The only bad things about is that you cant shoot and record at the same time, it can't be used as a webcam and it doesn't quite fit in compact camera cases. Nevertheless, an amazing camera that is unbeatable for the price!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
46 of 89 people found this review helpful

31 to 40 of 3163 Items

3163 Item(s)

10 20 50

Ted's Sharing your love of Photography

How'd they do that?
"Sunrise on the Mt." By Joel Strickland

Tips from the photographer

  • Get up early, the light at sunrise can be amazing.
  • Act quick, the light isn’t like this for long.
  • Shoot raw, it helps to capture the full colour range.

Equipment Used