Canon EOS M > Compact System Camera

Canon EOS M > Compact System Camera

Very impressed and a bargain
Simon , 26/01/2015

Tempted by the low price and compatibility with Canons DSLR lenses, but nervous due to initial poor reviews echoed by Teds sales people. Bought it for my son and have been so impressed by his results and the small size of the camera that I have now bought one for myself. I am a professional photographer so the small size makes it a lot of fun for casual non professional work. Ended up using the ef-m lenses as using my heavy ef lenses with the adapter seems to defeat the purpose of having such a small and lightweight body.

Pros: Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon EOS M > Compact System Camera

Canon EOS M > Compact System Camera

Very impressed and a bargain
Simon , 26/01/2015

Tempted by the low price and compatibility with Canons DSLR lenses, but nervous due to initial poor reviews echoed by Teds sales people. Bought it for my son and have been so impressed by his results and the small size of the camera that I have now bought one for myself. I am a professional photographer so the small size makes it a lot of fun for casual non professional work. Ended up using the ef-m lenses as using my heavy ef lenses with the adapter seems to defeat the purpose of having such a small and lightweight body.

Pros: Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Lowepro Photo Hatchback 16L AW

Lowepro Photo Hatchback 16L AW

Thumbs Up
Lim , 22/01/2015

Great Products with Great Price

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Kaiser Baas HD Media Hub

Kaiser Baas HD Media Hub

The best
Lenore , 22/01/2015

All you need to watch your movies, see your photos and listen to your music. It's size is compact and it's very light. I have mine permanently attached to my upstairs TV via HDMI AND WITH 2 USB and 1 SD Card slot there is always something to watch. It also has the capacity to read up to a 2 TB external hard drive. This quality of the picture is great too. I was so impressed I also bought one for my Dad and we have both had ours for ages with no trouble at all and the price is fantastic.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Olympus Stylus Tough TG3 > Digital Compact Camera

Olympus Stylus Tough TG3 > Digital Compact Camera

TG 3 Tough in Antarctica
Susan Joost , 21/01/2015

I took this camera to Antarctica where it worked very well but as expected the batteries don't last very long. Great photos ^ very easy to use.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Pentax XG-1 > Digital Compact Camera

Pentax XG-1 > Digital Compact Camera

Easy purchase, easy camera to use very happy
Wisla 7 , 21/01/2015

Please see summary of review which covers all that needs to be said sufficiently, I am now simply typing to reach 50 words not to add anything constructive.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Canon Selphy CP910 Black

Reliable Convenient Printer
Boyland86 , 18/01/2015

This is my third printer haven't been able to use it wireless after multiple times trying to set up had to resort to cable which is disappointing as the main reason I bought it was the wireless option.

Pros: Compact, Build quality, Battery life
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Canon KP-108IN Print Pack

Canon KP-108IN Print Pack

Get Snapping
Boyland86 , 18/01/2015

Excellent I have been using this product for years and will continue to.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Complicated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Nikon AF-S 20mm f1.8G ED Lens

Nikon AF-S 20mm f1.8G ED Lens

crystal clear pictures
peter kain , 16/01/2015

Very easy on the eye, close ups as good as macro lenses and fills the gaps for the tight low lights.
Very happy>

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Cons: Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

Panasonic Lumix FZ200

The Best Compact Camera I've Had
The Digital Wizard , 14/01/2015

I've owned & taken 2000+ photos with a Fuji 5500S (sold), 4000+ photos with a Panasonic FZ28 (sold), 4000+ photos with a Sony Rx100 (Still own), 4500+ photos with a Canon EOS 30D DSLR (Still own), & now 8000 photos with the Panasonic FZ200. Note: I have not retained all of these photos on my backup HDD, but at least 75% of them. I bought this camera as a lighter & easier all-in-one alternative to taking my 30D DSLR on a recent trip to the US, Canada & Alaska - where 4000 of the photos were taken! While the picture quality doesn't compare with a DSLR, the overall quality of photos is still quite impressive from the Leica glass. The colour, sharpness, saturation is quite good & manually adjustable in camera in addition to the preset modes according to personal preferences. Settings of +1/+2 sharpness, -1 NR, 0 saturation, 0 contrast seem to produce the best results, although this is according to my own personal tastes. There is evidence of some chroma noise (graininess) in pictures even using ISO100 in bright light conditions & it progressively becomes worse in darker areas of photos as the ISO level increases, but that's influenced by a combination of several factors including camera settings, the subject & lighting conditions, & the small 1/2.3 sensor which is known to produce a fair degree of noise when processing images after shooting... (virtually all cameras in this class do!) Unless you're a fastidious pixel peeper like I am, it probably won't even bother you! There's nothing that can't be corrected to a pleasing result with a little post processing using your favourite photo editing program. Until now I've been shooting using the native 4:3 aspect, but have recently started using the 16:9 format to match the resolution of widescreen format TV/monitors etc., which means the native 12MP mode is cropped to 9MP & then scaled up to full screen again. No loss of detail in the photos & the overall quality seems to be somewhat better as the small sensor isn't being pushed to it's limits. The camera itself is extremely versatile with that big zoom lens (24x optical with extended digital zoom not being recommended), allowing you to capture virtually anything you can set your eyes upon with a high degree of ease & clarity. I've taken photos of objects as close as ~1cm from the lens in macro mode to objects like high altitude jets passing overhead with an amazing degree of clarity & detail. Very easy to use as a full auto PS, or there's a range of semi-auto to full manual modes to cater for almost every situation that presents itself if you prefer a bit more of a challenge to capturing that 'perfect' shot. I prefer to use the higher resolution EVF when composing shots, but the full tilt/swivel 3-inch non-touch rear LED screen is also quite capable & fairly accurately displays a picture of what you're seeing even in bright outdoors conditions. The camera controls/buttons are easily reachable with your fingers with only light touch operation required & the quality feels all right. The built-in menu is fairly easy to navigate & logical in layout, although I've been using different camera menus/options for at least 7 years now so they start to become familiar after a while. For a first time user, the plethora of options/dual control options etc. may seem a bit daunting, but like anything it becomes a lot easier & more comfortable with persistent use (ie. you'll end up learning what works for you fairly quick & easy.) Play with the settings... you can't hurt anything! If all else fails, there's a reset to manufacturers default setting in the menu which will reset all camera settings back to when it was new. Start up time prior to shooting is an acceptable 2-3 seconds with about 5 seconds required for the lens barrel to reach to/or retract from full zoom. Battery life is really good. While shooting in NY & Vancouver, I easily achieved around 400 photos per day with plenty of charge left in the battery, so the rated 540 photos per charge seems fairly attainable, although this will drop considerably if you do a lot of zooming/screen viewing without actually taking any photos of course. I'm currently using a 64GB class10 70MB/sec SDXC memory card, which is necessary to capture the very good quality video the camera produces in MP4 or AVSHD format. I'm not an avid videographer, but the camera seems to be very 'full HD' capable with all formats being able to be edited using most HD video editing software with good results. One last thing I must mention... after taking 8000 photos with this camera it has suddenly developed an odd quirk with the menu & lens systems. While the camera is still fully usable, when any part of the menu is brought up for selection it suddenly starts continuously auto-scrolling through each successive option (over & over.) It can be manually stopped for a few moments & functions set etc., but then it continues scrolling through the menu list. In like manner, after zooming in to take a photo after a few seconds the lens barrel sometimes suddenly retracts back to default 1x zoom position without touching any controls whatsoever. I have checked menu settings many times for incorrect/unwanted settings, but everything is set where I want it. I'm thinking the built-in ROM chip that drives the camera menu/mechanics etc. may have developed a slight fault to cause this sort of odd behaviour. Other than this, I'm very happy with the quality of this camera & the photos it can produce overall. Definitely recommended as a light-weight, all purpose, carry anywhere camera that'll capture virtually any situation quite easily even in very low light conditions (my favourite!) It goes wherever I go & I've still got about 7000 of the 8000 photos to prove it! Thank you for reading this review & happy snapping!

The Digital Wizard

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money