Loading Cart...

Customer Reviews

1 to 10 of 3144 Items

3144 Item(s)

10 20 50

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
A stunning bit of do it all photographic kit!
JOE , NORTHCOTE, MELBOURNE , 17/08/14

After reading umpteen glowingly positive reviews about this camera, I finally bought it and collected it from the efficient and gorgeous Teresa Marino from Ted's Elizabeth Street store yesterday, Saturday 16 August 2014. I've been test driving the camera today, 17 August. What a beautifully built, highly capable, fun to use camera it is. Built in Japan (very few cameras are these days - even the high end ones), it feels great in the hand. Yes, it's on the heavy side (just over 800 grams), but when you consider this camera comes with a 25-400mm (25-800mm in certain settings!!) Leica lens, the weight is not a serious issue. Yes, it's complicated with umpteen menus for each function, but then again, what modern camera isn't? But, what stunning images it takes! I've uploaded today's efforts and been drooling over them. Great colors, sharpness, and lovely bokeh effect. And, they were just quick snaps, shot while on the camera's intelligent auto. If you are looking for a great do it all camera that will produce beautiful images for you, then look no further, and buy the camera from Teresa at the Elizabeth St store. Tell her Joe sent you and she will look after you!

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Bulky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
15 of 25 people found this review helpful

JVC GZ-Rx120

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Disappointing
Ric , South Australia , 10/08/14

Thought be really good having quad proof Camcorder as doesn't matter if it gets rained on etc.
Bought it and the issues started straight away with difficult to use hand strap, fiddly, flimsy access door to open to reach sockets for charging inbuilt battery, sd card etc. Auto focus takes to long when on (optical) zoom to focus on object, On playback through Camcorder the sound level was so low it was hard to hear (this may be fault with just this one camera) . On playback through HD TV the motor on the zoom was very audible as a loud whine, the quality of the movie was just average and still pic's looked liked 3 mega pixels
so was very disappointing. I was very pleased with the store as I was able to return it, thank goodness!

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
16 of 30 people found this review helpful

Nikon WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Quick simple file transfer
Gary Lum , Canberra, Australia , 8/08/14

I purchased the MU-1a for my D7100 and it works well for my needs. I'm very happy with the purchase. I've not experienced any problems. I've not tried to transfer a RAW file I think they would take too long.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 24 people found this review helpful

BlackRapid Strap Camera Sling METRO

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Have been using this strap for about a year love it very comfortable and easy to use
David , Adelaide south australia , 31/07/14

excellent strap love using it easy to use and comfortable

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 27 people found this review helpful

Fuji X-E1

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Poor man's Leica
MikeScully , Melbourne , 24/07/14

I wanted some thing smaller than my Canon 5d2 but as controllable and with excellent image quality. I considered a few others which had more features and better autofocus but my heart said the Fuji. I considered the xe-2 but I couldn't justify the extra cost for what seems to be an incremental improvement. Yes, the xe-1 is slower to focus and the screen is smaller but what the heck. So far the xe-1 is great to use and unobtrusive, which is more than you can say about a DSLR. So far so good, I think the Fuji and I are going to have a happy relationship.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
19 of 37 people found this review helpful

Olympus PEN 45mm f1.8

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Prime lens
BC , Melbourne , 14/07/14

Purchased for use with OM-D EM-10. Provides excellent images even in low level light. Tested it out at pub venue for taking pics of bands under extremely poor lighting. Managed to get fantastic quality pics without using a flash.

Highly recommended

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
28 of 53 people found this review helpful

Gorillapod Original

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very good for any angle on the ground!
Cal W , Melbourne , 13/07/14

I used this for low angles where i set it up and left it recording, but soon found other uses for it like creating a homemade GoPole on a tent pole! This tripod doesn't disappoint, it will deliver amazing footage from Bumper BMX Videos to Salmon Snapping.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
28 of 51 people found this review helpful

Tamron AF 16-300mm VC PZD

Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very Pleased
Jim , Cairns , 11/07/14

This type of lens must be to some extent a compromise over that range from 16 to 300, but I am pleased with the results across the range. After trying it at wide angle and then using 50% crop on macro image it is still sharp, and I have tried the 300 setting with 2000 shutter speed and still good results from ISO800. I will continue to use this single lens for a while and see if the results continue to please.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
25 of 47 people found this review helpful

Gorillapod GP8 Focus + Ballhead X

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Extremely versatile...and not a bad weapon either...
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/14

I got this because I can't yet afford a decent tripod for my height (5' 16.5"). No! I don't want to bend down to look into the viewfinder unless I have to.

These things are as good as they say they are. Build quality is very good. The Ball-Head X is great at this price point. I'm hoping that they build some higher-end head options for this tripod. Why? Well, technically I can fit pretty much any head to this tripod if I want to right now...but it would be nice to get some options that are designed for it...you know?... a bit smaller than normal heads. E.g. A fluid ball would be nice and maybe some variants for video and stills.

The fluid pan on this is really nice, but you have to be a bit careful with the ball bit...if you're camera is mounted and and you loosen it off your camera will flop to one side quite hard and could damage your camera or your fingers. Not a fault, just something to be careful with.

I've had this thing wrapped around a tree-trunk, railngs, and it fits in and on things that make it extremely useful in places that you just couldn't use a normal tripod. It's also great for macro. If I want a monopod, I just find a stick the length I want and pop the Gorillapod on top. And I've only had it for 6 days... :-)

Highly recommended for Nooooobs (like me) and Pros alike.

Cheers

Stephen G

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
24 of 48 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/14

Please Note: This review (http://www.teds.com.au/reviews) also appears under the Canon 7D. I don't know how that happened, but it's wrong. I bought and reviewed the 70D. Thought I'd post my review again...with some 'Extra stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it':

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point. Make sure you ask Ted's for a price match!

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Extra Stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it:

Ok! Now that I'm an 'ex-spurt' with 2 whole weeks under my belt, I can say that this - WOW! If you've been using your iPhone (or Android as I do) Camera, then you're going to love this. Not to discount the phones, they're great...especially for scouting/researching shots in areas where you haven't shot before (which for me is everywhere). In fact I think I've used my Phone Camera more since I've been using my 70D. Very useful and complementary.

The 70D does everything it says it does, really well and really easily...but it's important to take your time and be patient...not with the Camera, with yourself...there's just so much to learn. It took me a week just to go through the Manual and get a vague idea of the potential of this Camera. I started shooting Manual and Raw on day 2 and it's shiploads of fun and not as hard as some would have you think. I use Auto if I'm just wanting to grab something quickly...I can come back to it later and get the shot I want.

I had a Code-Red after a couple of days because I got spots in my viewfinder; and I'm goin' "AAAAH! But I haven't even taken the lens off!" I didn't want to go dickin' around with sensors and mirrors so soon, so I took it into Ted's and the good ol' chappies set me at ease. Here's what they told me (my words):

1. If you've got spots in your viewfinder but not on your LCD Monitor, it's your mirror and not the sensor. Phew!

2. If it's on your mirror, it most likely dust which can be blown off easily (I bought one of those humungous Rocket Blowers).

3. 'But I haven't taken my lense off!' Dust will always get into Cameras...more so if you have a zoom lens (like my little kit lens - 18-55mm STM - which is great by the way), which both sucks and blows as you zoom in and out.

In short - Don't panic you silly ol' buggar! It's 'nooooorrrrrmal'!

I've since bought a Joby Gorillapod Focus with Ball-X Head (great!), and a Joby Ultra Hand Strap with Ulra-Plate. I don't like neck straps and I can't afford a full-size tripod for my height yet (I'm 5' 16.5"). So I got the Gorillapod and I'm gunna bung on a Surveryors Tripod (heaps cheaper, stronger, more solid than most camera tripods and only a bit heavier - about 3kg for a big one that suit my height). The hand-strap is great to (and I've got fairly big hands)...make sure you fiddle with the adjustment until you get your hand at the proper angle to reach the buttons. Some people say the strap is crap because they can't get to the buttons properly...I reckon they probably expect their cameras to make coffee for them too..

Oh! And I got a Larmor Screen Protector...which I broke in my first attempt at fitting. My other one arrived today. :-P

Ok! That's a wrap! Hope it helps a bit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
35 of 66 people found this review helpful

1 to 10 of 3144 Items

3144 Item(s)

10 20 50

Ted's Sharing your love of Photography

How'd they do that?
"Sunrise on the Mt." By Joel Strickland

Tips from the photographer

  • Get up early, the light at sunrise can be amazing.
  • Act quick, the light isn’t like this for long.
  • Shoot raw, it helps to capture the full colour range.

Equipment Used