Shopping Cart: 0 items shopping cart

Customer Reviews

1 to 10 of 3142 Items

3142 Item(s)

10 20 50

Fuji X-E1

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Poor man's Leica
MikeScully , Melbourne , 24/07/14

I wanted some thing smaller than my Canon 5d2 but as controllable and with excellent image quality. I considered a few others which had more features and better autofocus but my heart said the Fuji. I considered the xe-2 but I couldn't justify the extra cost for what seems to be an incremental improvement. Yes, the xe-1 is slower to focus and the screen is smaller but what the heck. So far the xe-1 is great to use and unobtrusive, which is more than you can say about a DSLR. So far so good, I think the Fuji and I are going to have a happy relationship.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Olympus PEN 45mm f1.8

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Prime lens
BC , Melbourne , 14/07/14

Purchased for use with OM-D EM-10. Provides excellent images even in low level light. Tested it out at pub venue for taking pics of bands under extremely poor lighting. Managed to get fantastic quality pics without using a flash.

Highly recommended

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 26 people found this review helpful

Gorillapod Original

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very good for any angle on the ground!
Cal W , Melbourne , 13/07/14

I used this for low angles where i set it up and left it recording, but soon found other uses for it like creating a homemade GoPole on a tent pole! This tripod doesn't disappoint, it will deliver amazing footage from Bumper BMX Videos to Salmon Snapping.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
16 of 28 people found this review helpful

Tamron AF 16-300mm VC PZD

Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Very Pleased
Jim , Cairns , 11/07/14

This type of lens must be to some extent a compromise over that range from 16 to 300, but I am pleased with the results across the range. After trying it at wide angle and then using 50% crop on macro image it is still sharp, and I have tried the 300 setting with 2000 shutter speed and still good results from ISO800. I will continue to use this single lens for a while and see if the results continue to please.

Pros: Easy to use, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 26 people found this review helpful

Gorillapod GP8 Focus + Ballhead X

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Extremely versatile...and not a bad weapon either...
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/14

I got this because I can't yet afford a decent tripod for my height (5' 16.5"). No! I don't want to bend down to look into the viewfinder unless I have to.

These things are as good as they say they are. Build quality is very good. The Ball-Head X is great at this price point. I'm hoping that they build some higher-end head options for this tripod. Why? Well, technically I can fit pretty much any head to this tripod if I want to right now...but it would be nice to get some options that are designed for it...you know?... a bit smaller than normal heads. E.g. A fluid ball would be nice and maybe some variants for video and stills.

The fluid pan on this is really nice, but you have to be a bit careful with the ball bit...if you're camera is mounted and and you loosen it off your camera will flop to one side quite hard and could damage your camera or your fingers. Not a fault, just something to be careful with.

I've had this thing wrapped around a tree-trunk, railngs, and it fits in and on things that make it extremely useful in places that you just couldn't use a normal tripod. It's also great for macro. If I want a monopod, I just find a stick the length I want and pop the Gorillapod on top. And I've only had it for 6 days... :-)

Highly recommended for Nooooobs (like me) and Pros alike.

Cheers

Stephen G

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
13 of 26 people found this review helpful

Canon EOS 70D

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Camera, good ol' fashioned service
Stephen G , Canberra , 10/07/14

Please Note: This review (http://www.teds.com.au/reviews) also appears under the Canon 7D. I don't know how that happened, but it's wrong. I bought and reviewed the 70D. Thought I'd post my review again...with some 'Extra stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it':

I'm 53 years old and this is the first camera I've ever bought and/or owned (not counting the one in my phone)

I've only had it a few days, so I reckon might be able to provide something resembling a full review in about 5 years when I've actually learned how to use it.

But the best part is that this camera makes me want to learn. It makes me want to pick it up and use it. And from what I've learned so far, it's very impressive indeed...especially at this price-point. Make sure you ask Ted's for a price match!

But now on to the really important stuff. Call me an ol' fuddy-duddy, but when I purchase something, especially like this camera, the purchase experience is very important to me. I'm quite used to using and purchasing over the internet and during the several months I've spent researching this purchase I became acutely aware of 'grey market' imports - there are a large number of South-East Asian stores claiming to be Australian and/or Australian owned. Most have the appearance of better prices and some even have reasonable shipping rates. Overall, the price difference worked out to be between $100-$200 cheaper than actual Australian based stores for this product. But that's where the advantages seem to end. Here's a good example - have a look at the customer reviews on this product review site - http://www.productreview.com.au/p/camera-paradise.html. Notice that the folks that are unhappy had an after-sales issue that was either difficult or impossible to resolve.

Enter Ted's. Local store, Australian 2 year warranty and great service. Yep! I'm happy to recommend young Steve from the shop in the Canberra Centre. Just plain excellent, good ol' fashioned service. He was interested, helpful and made the entire purchase process enjoyable. And if ever I have any issues I can physically go and talk to an actual human face to face, that speaks my language and I feel confident that I'll be looked after properly. That's gotta be worth $200 when you're spending $1000+ for sensitive equipment that will last a few years.

Anyway, I'd best shutup now. Great camera, great purchase experience, happy to recommend both Canon 70D and Ted's Camera Store.

Cheers

Stephen G

Extra Stuff after a whole 2 weeks of using it:

Ok! Now that I'm an 'ex-spurt' with 2 whole weeks under my belt, I can say that this - WOW! If you've been using your iPhone (or Android as I do) Camera, then you're going to love this. Not to discount the phones, they're great...especially for scouting/researching shots in areas where you haven't shot before (which for me is everywhere). In fact I think I've used my Phone Camera more since I've been using my 70D. Very useful and complementary.

The 70D does everything it says it does, really well and really easily...but it's important to take your time and be patient...not with the Camera, with yourself...there's just so much to learn. It took me a week just to go through the Manual and get a vague idea of the potential of this Camera. I started shooting Manual and Raw on day 2 and it's shiploads of fun and not as hard as some would have you think. I use Auto if I'm just wanting to grab something quickly...I can come back to it later and get the shot I want.

I had a Code-Red after a couple of days because I got spots in my viewfinder; and I'm goin' "AAAAH! But I haven't even taken the lens off!" I didn't want to go dickin' around with sensors and mirrors so soon, so I took it into Ted's and the good ol' chappies set me at ease. Here's what they told me (my words):

1. If you've got spots in your viewfinder but not on your LCD Monitor, it's your mirror and not the sensor. Phew!

2. If it's on your mirror, it most likely dust which can be blown off easily (I bought one of those humungous Rocket Blowers).

3. 'But I haven't taken my lense off!' Dust will always get into Cameras...more so if you have a zoom lens (like my little kit lens - 18-55mm STM - which is great by the way), which both sucks and blows as you zoom in and out.

In short - Don't panic you silly ol' buggar! It's 'nooooorrrrrmal'!

I've since bought a Joby Gorillapod Focus with Ball-X Head (great!), and a Joby Ultra Hand Strap with Ulra-Plate. I don't like neck straps and I can't afford a full-size tripod for my height yet (I'm 5' 16.5"). So I got the Gorillapod and I'm gunna bung on a Surveryors Tripod (heaps cheaper, stronger, more solid than most camera tripods and only a bit heavier - about 3kg for a big one that suit my height). The hand-strap is great to (and I've got fairly big hands)...make sure you fiddle with the adjustment until you get your hand at the proper angle to reach the buttons. Some people say the strap is crap because they can't get to the buttons properly...I reckon they probably expect their cameras to make coffee for them too..

Oh! And I got a Larmor Screen Protector...which I broke in my first attempt at fitting. My other one arrived today. :-P

Ok! That's a wrap! Hope it helps a bit.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 25 people found this review helpful

Olympus PEN 15mm Body Cap lens

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Simple fun photography
Paul W , South Coast Victoria , 1/07/14

I wanted to reduce the size of my Lumix GX-7 so I could slip it into my bike bag or pocket. The kit zoom (non pancake) is quite bulky. So before I shell out for a pancake prime I thought it would be fun to try this lens. I didn't have great expectations for such a simple lens but it has exceeded those expectations. The results are plenty sharp enough for web or emailed images and at first glance you wouldn't easily separate the images from those taken with the kit zoom. It's refreshing to set a prime lens to hyperfocal distance and shoot. I do believe that creativity is higher with a prime lens.

It is not 'sharp to the edges' - it doesn't pretend to be that. It's sharp enough in centre field and for 'art photography' it will produce results according to your creativity.

It's a lens cap that shrinks your camera to a slim box and you can flick the cap open and shoot very much like the old Box Brownies.

You won't get more fun for the price. I love it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
18 of 32 people found this review helpful

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent Optics
Susie , NSW , 30/06/14

Excellent Lens , very good value , getting really sharp results consistently

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
19 of 36 people found this review helpful

Vanguard Espod CX204 AGH Tripod

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
Excellent quality product
Susie , NSW , 30/06/14

Very good build quality, easy to setup and to use, very stable and fantastic to pan with and chase aircraft around with, wish it came with bag but that's ok, I'm extremely happy with it.

Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
14 of 31 people found this review helpful

Sony Handycam NEX VG30 + 18-200mm

Battery life
Build quality
Ease of use
Image quality
Overall
Value for money
This is an exceptional camera that works well with my current SLR's
Armchair Geographer , Canberra , 27/06/14

This camera offers versatility that I don't have in other cameras. It is compact does not need all the add on extras that are needed with the SLR options and has a great mic for general sound. As with any device there is a need to record sound on a separate system and this is especially true with other SLR's but much less so with this device and I can use old canon Sony and Carl Zeis lens options that are not available with other video cameras. Much has been said about it not having XLR inputs but neither do SLRs and this has quality sound great handling and great video quality that is a little let down in low light but adding a brighter lens usually overcomes that. The Kit zoom is really the problem in low light conditions and that is why you go for a camera with interchangeable lenses.

Pros: Easy to use, Battery life
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Inappropriate? Report this review
Was this review helpful?  Yes or No
17 of 33 people found this review helpful

1 to 10 of 3142 Items

3142 Item(s)

10 20 50

Ted's Sharing your love of Photography

How'd they do that?
"Sunrise on the Mt." By Joel Strickland

Tips from the photographer

  • Get up early, the light at sunrise can be amazing.
  • Act quick, the light isn’t like this for long.
  • Shoot raw, it helps to capture the full colour range.

Equipment Used